You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » STERO sacd question

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#61213 - 09/16/04 09:07 PM STERO sacd question
bray Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/10/04
Posts: 1805
Loc: Colorado
I bought several new sacds not noticing that some are only stereo and not multi channel. When I play the stereo sacds in the player, in 6 channel they play without the sub. I can understand this "kinda", but I would like to hear them with my sub and its coresponding crossover setting. How can I make this happen?
I've tried playing them through the digital output, (rather than the 6 channel output) but I get no sound at all. I can play regular cds through the digital output with sub and coresponding crossover setting but not the sacds. Why? Am I missing something in the player setup menu?
BTW, the player is a Phillips 795sa.

_________________________
LIFE IS SHORT.
DON'T BE A DICK.

Top
#61214 - 09/16/04 09:27 PM Re: STERO sacd question
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 791
Loc: Asheville, NC
Bray,

Some SACD's are two channels only. The type varies from multi channel to two channels. Check the SACD's to find out if the are two channel only, if not go into the menu on your Philips player to make sure that 5.1 is turned on multi channel or analog.

To fix your subwoofer issue, I would play around with the bass management settings in your DVD play. If that doesn't pan out, check out Outlaws ICBM. The Outlaw ICBM is a very flexible piece of gear. www.outlawaudio.com

Tom
_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top
#61215 - 09/16/04 09:39 PM Re: STERO sacd question
bray Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/10/04
Posts: 1805
Loc: Colorado
Yea, I realized that these sacds were only two channel, and I can play them through the 6 channel source in stereo mode on the player and they play and dont sound bad (thanks to the m60s bass) but I would like to hear them with my sub. I thought if I switched to the digital out (which I play dvds through on the same player) and turned off any suround I could hear the 2 channel sacds in stereo with my sub. This works with a regular cd but not the 2channel sacds. I think its probably a setting on the player that I'm missing.
OK now I'm just confusing myself.
_________________________
LIFE IS SHORT.
DON'T BE A DICK.

Top
#61216 - 09/16/04 09:55 PM Re: STERO sacd question
JaimeG Offline
aficionado

Registered: 12/25/02
Posts: 556
Loc: Ashburn, VA
I ‘d never own a subWofer so I may not be the best person to answer your question...
You probably need to send the analog signal of the 2 front channels to your sub amp. I believe most subs have extra inputs for 2 channels setups.
Dont send the digital signal to your receiver 'cus it'll not be true SACD or dvd-a audio it'll be either pcm ,dd51 or dts.

Jaime

_________________________
The sailor does not pray for wind, he learns to sail. --Lindborg

Top
#61217 - 09/16/04 09:56 PM Re: STERO sacd question
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 791
Loc: Asheville, NC
I had the same problem. My stereo only SACD's would only go to my mains. I fixed this by getting an ICBM, which redirects the low frequencies (user adjustable) to the sub.
The problem with SACD's and the players are that if it's a two channel only SACD none of the lower frequency will go out the subwoofer output.

I hope this make sense.

_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top
#61218 - 09/16/04 10:04 PM Re: STERO sacd question
dmn23 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/03
Posts: 649
Loc: Nashville, TN
What's your experience with the ICBM? Pretty positive? I keep saying one of these days I'm going to shell out for one, but I never get around to it. I'm curious to hear what an owner thinks.
_________________________
M22ti mains, EP175 sub, VP150 center, QS4 surrounds

Top
#61219 - 09/16/04 10:11 PM Re: STERO sacd question
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 791
Loc: Asheville, NC
Ok, I'm going to try this again .
1.) SACD's use the analog interconnects only. The DA converter will send signal to the appropriate outputs on your SACD player. This depends on what type of SACD that it is. The music industry wanted to make sure that pirating would be more difficult if the audio was converted to analog before it leaves the player.

2.) All analog that leaves the player will come out the appropriate out put. Stereo SACD will only leave the front left and right outputs only (not the subwoofer). This is why you are not getting any low frequency signal to the subwoofer.

_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top
#61220 - 09/16/04 10:13 PM Re: STERO sacd question
bray Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/10/04
Posts: 1805
Loc: Colorado
tleigh
Thanks. Yea it makes sense, and pisses me off at the same time.
I really like bass for some music. The m60s have good bass, but not the extra low thud I like on some of my cds.
I looked at the ICBM....... seems interesting.
Wanna come down to TX. and help me set it up.
I'm getting tired of upgrading.
I cant believe I just said that.
Let me rephrase. I'm getting tired of moving my stereo cabinet off the wall and plugging in wires.
That sounds better doesnt it.?
_________________________
LIFE IS SHORT.
DON'T BE A DICK.

Top
#61221 - 09/16/04 10:17 PM Re: STERO sacd question
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 791
Loc: Asheville, NC
It's the best $250 I've spent on audio equipment. The ICBM is very flexible. The build quality is top notch.
Most important, it does what it's supposed to do. I'm very happy with it.
_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top
#61222 - 09/16/04 10:19 PM Re: STERO sacd question
SpockTheater Offline
local

Registered: 04/06/03
Posts: 220
Loc: Shreveport, Louisiana
I grabbed an ICBM off Audiogon when I was putting my system together. After looking at all the receivers out there, I knew that if I got an ICBM, I would have more bass management than many receivers have (except for HK and Rotel). I placed my ICBM between the preamp and amplifier sections of my receiver so it became a more universal solution to bass management. I got mine for $150 (including 10 quality RCA interconnects). So be sure to check audiogon for deals.

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,964 Topics
423,627 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (brendo)
195 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup