Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
EP500 setup
#79885 02/01/05 02:26 PM
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Having some trouble setting up the EP500 and am hoping you can help. YPAO on the Yamaha Rxv2400 is really having trouble w/ the 500. It is 8.5 feet from my listening position and it is trying to set it as 19 feet away??? At +5.5 db which is blowing the roof off!!

I turn the sub all the way down on the receiver (-10db), still an insane amount of bass. I have the volume on the sub at half position on the volume dial on the sub. I have the boost set to flat, and the crossover at 80hz.

What do I do? Should I leave the settings as YPAO instructs? Why is it saying 18.5feet away?

Did I get TOO MUCH Sub?? This thing is a beast, and I am anxious to get it setup correctly. The other speakers seem amazing so far.

Any suggestions?

M60 VP150 2x QS8 EP500 HK 7300 DENON DVD-3910 Sony 60" SXRD
Re: EP500 setup
#79886 02/01/05 02:38 PM
veteran
veteran
I'm new to this stuff as well but first of all, don't give up on it! This thing is awesome. When I first set mine up I followed the directions that came with the sub, which said to put it at the 9 o'clock position. I did this and used denon's auto setup feature. WOW! Way too much. After some fiddling, I finally settled with 1/4 volume, which seems to be workng great. But depending upon the source material, I'll adjust it down from there. Never have gone past the 1/4 mark.

As for the destance, denon set it at 15', which is greater than the actual. Has to do with the the subs internal relay, I think. Should not effect the performance, though.

Anyone home besides yourself? That would have scared the diapers off my little one!

Axiom stuff, Denon stuff, & Sony stuff
#79887 02/01/05 02:38 PM
local
local