Print Thread
Rate Thread
Advice on New HT construction
#151828 11/23/06 12:25 AM
H
Hook Offline OP
OP Offline
H
I’m a newbie. I’ve tried to do a lot of research ahead of this posting, but I’m sure I’ve probably missed something –information overload. I'm building a new HT as part of a basement build-out and need some advice. I have reserved a rectangular space in the basement that is 19'(l) x 13.5'(w) x 9'(h) - unfinished. The walls on two sides of the space (the front screen wall and a side wall) will sit in front of cement foundation walls. About 9' of the 13.5' back wall sit in front of another concrete foundation wall and the balance separates the HT from the mechanical room. The remaining side wall (19’) separates the HT from the remaining basement, which when finished will be a rec. room with bar and pool table. This space is directly under the kitchen, which has wood flooring.

I want to make sure that I'm planning the sound isolation and acoustics properly. I’d rather spend the money up front then spend it on a divorce attorney later. I’ve already been down that road once. For sound isolation, I'm planning on the following:

1) The walls the sit in front of foundation walls will be 2x4 construction with RC, fiberglass insulation and double dry wall (1/2 and 5/8) screwed and green glued. They will sit approx 1 inch off the foundation wall, which is wrapped with insulation. There are two small (1'x2') basement windows along the top of the side wall which I plan to wall off. I plan on keeping a small gap (to be chalked with sound chalk) where the wall meets the ceiling and the floor in order to isolate it more.