You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Ready to upgrade

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#155402 - 01/09/07 09:09 AM Ready to upgrade
bigjim63 Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/09/05
Posts: 17
I'm finally going to get a HDTV, leaning toward a plasma. This means getting rid of existing wall unit and getting new furniture. I currently have M22's but the wife does not want to put them on stands. I suggested a tower and she seemed to bite. Our room is 14'x14' with an open back to the kitchen and an opening on the side to the living room. My question is M80 to large? I also want to upgrade my sub. Looking at the 500. Is this going to be to much for the room. I also need to find a credenza to hold all of my equipment, any suggestions?
_________________________
M22 VP100 QS8 Integra 8.3 Jamo

Top
#155403 - 01/09/07 09:20 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: bigjim63]
littleb Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/03/03
Posts: 1235
Loc: Moorhead, Minnesota/US
Plasma TV, M22s to M80s and EP500. Man, when you upgrade, you don't fool around.

Top
#155404 - 01/09/07 09:38 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: bigjim63]
packetloss Offline
newbie

Registered: 12/14/06
Posts: 4
They won't be too large, but for that size room m60's would be more than adequate. Also the m80's are a 4 ohm design so some receivers could have issues driving them.

As far as plasma goes, I recommend you look for a 1080p model. The pixel resolution should be 1920x1080. Pretty much all the 1080i and below models use 1366x768 resolution. If the budget allows, you might want to consider an LCD. The contrast ratios are significantly better than they used to be and you won't have to worry about burn in or the brightness fading over time.

I have 2 LCDs. One is 1366x768 (32" Syntax) and the other is 1920x1080 (46" Samsung) and for 1080i material - which is deinterlaced by the monitor since LCD,Plasma etc are progressive by nature - the picture is noticeably sharper on the 46".

Top
#155405 - 01/09/07 09:41 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: littleb]
Screefer Offline
buff

Registered: 11/02/06
Posts: 51
At least you won't have to worry about upgrading for a little while!!

Top
#155406 - 01/09/07 10:07 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: packetloss]
Hutzal Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/26/06
Posts: 2102
Loc: Hollywood. (Canadian @ <3)
>>They won't be too large, but for that size room m60's would be more than adequate.>>

mdrew on this board has M80s in a 14 x 16 room. I think his listening position is around 12 feet away and he said the M80s were really hard to set up and sound good when sitting so close.

Bottom line, unless your listening position is around 12 feet away or more from the M80s, they won't have enough space for a good sound.

Go with the M60s, its a better choice in your room size and they are 8ohm.
_________________________
Producer | Composer
www.robbhutzal.com

Top
#155407 - 01/09/07 10:21 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: Hutzal]
bigjim63 Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/09/05
Posts: 17
Santa was nice this year and left some good cash! I was looking at LCD for the TV as well are they up to 50-55" size? The M22 I currently have do a great job, maybe I will only go to the M60's. What about the sub? Is 500 to large should I only go to a 350?
_________________________
M22 VP100 QS8 Integra 8.3 Jamo

Top
#155408 - 01/09/07 10:28 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: packetloss]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Technically speaking, if a monitor has a 1366x768 resolution, it's not1080i, as 1080 (i or p) is a designation indicating vertical lines. 1080 <> 768... They may take a 1080i input, but they're scaling it.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#155409 - 01/09/07 10:29 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: bigjim63]
Hutzal Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/26/06
Posts: 2102
Loc: Hollywood. (Canadian @ <3)
>>The M22 I currently have do a great job, maybe I will only go to the M60's. What about the sub? Is 500 to large should I only go to a 350?>>

Have you considered wall mounting your M22s? You can get the Axiom wall brackets and just mount them on a stud. For your room size, if you get an EP500 sub it will produce clean low bass, lower and cleaner and more musical than the EP350.

If you can swing the M22s wall mounted, i would go with that option and pick up an EP500 sub, this will literally be more than enough for your room size.

If you can't wall mount your M22s, the M60s will be a fine choice.
_________________________
Producer | Composer
www.robbhutzal.com

Top
#155410 - 01/09/07 10:41 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: Hutzal]
bigjim63 Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/09/05
Posts: 17
Wall mounting is a great idea. I may still get the M60's and move the M22's to the basement.
_________________________
M22 VP100 QS8 Integra 8.3 Jamo

Top
#155411 - 01/09/07 11:17 AM Re: Ready to upgrade [Re: bigjim63]
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
If you can swing the 60's and the ep500 that's what I would do, they make a great combination and you won't look back. I also have both a plasma and a LCD TV, I prefer the plasma, the colors seem sharper and the viewing angles are great.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,618 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
3 registered (brendo, Dundas, BBIBH)
306 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup