You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Anyone have a Harmony One remote?

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#231121 - 11/22/08 03:32 PM Anyone have a Harmony One remote?
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5316
Loc: Marion, IA
I was messing with my older Sony RM-AV2000 remote the last couple of days, and while it is a great remote, the lack of current device labels is frustrating. I mean, who needs 3 VCR set ups?

Anyway, I started looking into remotes and came across the Harmony series, which a lot of people seem to like.

I looked at the popular 880, and then that lead me to the newer 720, but I wasn't fond of the reports that they don't sit in their charging docks worth a darn, and that the paint on higher usage buttons comes off. So I decided to drop about twice as much and ordered a Harmony One remote today.

Are their any tips, tricks, or gotchas that I should be aware of?

This is going to be yet another Christmas present for me to go with my new Blu-Ray player and Blu-Ray movies, so I won't get a chance to play with it until Christmas, but if there is anything I should know ahead of time, that would be great.

I already found a site with a bunch of custom LCD icons to download to the device, so maybe I'll start weeding through those now and build up a library of possibilities..

Out with the old....



In with the new....




Edited by nickbuol (11/22/08 03:35 PM)
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#231131 - 11/22/08 04:04 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: nickbuol]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4294
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
I have a Harmony 1000 that replaced the previous version to your Sony remote which I have, and the Harmony remote is far better (difference is day and night). Although it's not the same model that you have, I would assume that you set it up via their software which is super easy to navigate and really slick. You have nothing to worry about, they are great units and their customer service is top-notch.
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#231134 - 11/22/08 04:08 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: Ya_basta]
SRoode Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/20/08
Posts: 1277
Loc: Fishers, Indiana, USA
I have the Harmony One... I would HIGHLY recommend it. Easy to program via the web, lot's of free 3rd party icons available via the web (as you already found), and VERY easy to use. It's a great remote.

Don't buy it if you expect to use the Logitech RF adapter... It doesn't work with the Harmony One. But, if all you need it IR, it is a great little remote.
_________________________
2 M80s, 1 VP180, 4 QS8s, 2 EP800s, 4 Algonquins, 2 M3 VaSSallos, 1 AxiomAir N3

Top
#231136 - 11/22/08 04:14 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: SRoode]
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
I have the Harmony One also and love it, by far the best of all my Harmony remotes, a great remote overall.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#231137 - 11/22/08 04:23 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: HomeDad]
Graeme L Offline
veteran

Registered: 10/04/08
Posts: 186
Loc: Perth Western Australia
I have the 785 and love it, as the others have said it's very easy to setup. The support is top notch, I had a problem and rang support and they programed the remote for me, then all I had to do was log into their software and update the remote, all fixed.

You can customize it all you want, there are a zillion things you can do with it.

Top
#231141 - 11/22/08 04:55 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: Graeme L]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5316
Loc: Marion, IA
Cool. Thanks! I only need IR and not RF so I should be good!
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#231145 - 11/22/08 05:58 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: nickbuol]
Ray3 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/02/04
Posts: 2854
Loc: Rochester, NY
Nick - whatever you look at (and I hope that also includes the MX-900 ), be sure to check with Mike at SurfRemoteControl.com.

Great guy and he might be able to set you up with an "open box" unit (always pristine AND at a great price).

No affiliation with Mike, but my personal experience with hom, as well as droves of folks I have referred has been top notch.

Top
#231149 - 11/22/08 07:02 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: Ray3]
SatKartr Offline
aficionado

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 612
Loc: Dallas
I just purchased the Harmony One, arrived yesterday, and just set it up today. Very smooth, easy setup. So far so good, it behaves as it is supposed to and button layout seems ergonomic. Although no design is perfect, several users stated in online reviews that the Harmony One had corrected flaws in earlier models (880?), e.g., not fitting into cradle right, whereas Harmony One does fit, other glitches I can't recall, so it seems they have continued to improve the design and most of the frustration has been eliminated, leaving mainly the convenient features, which is what remotes are all about, it seems to me. My wife has been complaining about the remote situation, e.g., whenever the Sony 350 turns off it resets the Samsung TV to channel 2, which is more or less boneheaded programming, who among blu ray users is going to watch OTA TV as the default, certainly not the majority (I'm assuming if I read the manual I will be able to defeat the Anynet function in the 350). She gave the Harmony One a test drive and is happy with the functionality, so far it seems positively cheap in terms of value/cost ratio.
_________________________
"If you try to turn toward it, you go against it."

Top
#231150 - 11/22/08 07:08 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: SatKartr]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3397
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Sounds great! I have the 890 and love it (I really need the RF portion as I have devices that are not next to each other). You will enjoy that they are really up-to-date with new devices coming out on the market.
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#231155 - 11/22/08 08:41 PM Re: Anyone have a Harmony One remote? [Re: EFalardeau]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Love my 670.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,616 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
33 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup