You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#278113 - 11/08/09 02:35 PM Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI?
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2185
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
In a few months, I will be making an upgrade to my Pio Elite 45TX, assuming I still have $$ after my remodel. :0

Love my Elite, may either end up w/ another Pio or a Denon, though I'm open to others. The biggest upgrade is to have HDMI 1.3a switching and support for new Dolby formats w/ my PS3.

At the moment, I'm putting together my wiring diagrams and I'm trying to figure out which AVRs have on screen displays (OSD) via HDMI. In the past, I've had to run an extra composite to support this. But there's a chance, I'll store my AVR in the garage so it's even more important to have full view of the OSD. I no longer have a reason for composite unless OSD forces me into it. Do all new receivers support OSD on HDMI?

Top
#278114 - 11/08/09 02:40 PM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: oldskoolboarder]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3400
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
I think it depends a lot if the receiver is just a video passtrough or it can also do video processing. If it is a passthrough (or configured to be one) then it will not have OSD. Most (if not all) of the receivers have online manuals. Check the ones that interests you.
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#278120 - 11/08/09 03:47 PM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: EFalardeau]
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2185
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
Hmm, not obvious in the Denon 3310 manual. Do any of you Denon owners know if the OSD is available via HDMI?

Top
#278121 - 11/08/09 03:58 PM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: oldskoolboarder]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13584
Loc: Iowa
works on my projector, 3808ci
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#278131 - 11/08/09 04:54 PM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: SirQuack]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
Interesting to me, but I doubt anyone else, my Pioneer receiver paired with their display will do OSD even when passing through 1080p, because the display generates the information via data sent over HDMI-CEC (Kuro link). But I doubt that applies to most setups, doubly so because most people have CEC turned off.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#278137 - 11/08/09 05:21 PM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: ClubNeon]
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2185
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
ah, all the more reason for me to get a Pioneer Kuro before it disappears...

Top
#278140 - 11/08/09 06:07 PM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: oldskoolboarder]
Potatohead Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/14/09
Posts: 670
Loc: Vancouver
My Denon 2310 does this in full color, also the 1910 does as well, but it is a more simple display. I would imagine all Denons higher than these would naturally do it as well.

Top
#278151 - 11/08/09 07:38 PM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: Potatohead]
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2185
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
Thanks for the input guys.

Another question. Does anyone know of any receivers other than the Denon 4308 that have Zone 2 HDMI out or multiple HDMI output? I want to have my HD Tivo in a main rack and have it drive multiple rooms in the house. If not, maybe someone can suggest a multiple input/multiple output HDMI solution. I see Gefen has some but wondering if there's cheaper ones. Monoprice doesn't seem to have the right ones.

Top
#278153 - 11/08/09 07:47 PM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: oldskoolboarder]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3400
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
If you want the SAME signal, I use a 20$ HDMI splitter from Monorpice right now that works very well. It can be daisy chained multiple times, at least according to them.
The page at MonoP has main options:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10113
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#278169 - 11/09/09 12:40 AM Re: Do all new receivers have OSD via HDMI? [Re: EFalardeau]
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2185
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
 Originally Posted By: EFalardeau
If you want the SAME signal, I use a 20$ HDMI splitter from Monorpice right now that works very well. It can be daisy chained multiple times, at least according to them.
The page at MonoP has main options:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10113


Much thanks! That's exactly what I needed. I have their 1x3 switch, never occurred to me to look at splitters.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,323 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,163 Topics
426,984 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13584
CV 11733
MarkSJohnson 11445
1 registered (Mojo)
233 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup