Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
IR Repeater System
#281552 12/06/09 01:42 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 44
buff
OP Offline
buff
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 44
I would like to have my AV equipment in the basement and my tv on the first floor. Can someone please recommend a IR Repeater System that will work for this setup. Is any one using one now? If so, how is it working for you? I need it to work for a Pioneer plasma tv, pioneer 56txi receiver, Verizon cable box, and a dvd player. Thanks in advance.


"If you buy cheap solution, be prepared to live with its limitations"
Re: IR Repeater System
ricwilli #281555 12/06/09 03:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,400
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,400
Do you need only a repearer or if you would consider a new RF-based universal remote? I am currently using a Harmony 890 and it does the job marvelously. They also now have a RF version of their Harmony One.


E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3
Re: IR Repeater System
EFalardeau #281572 12/06/09 04:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,210
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,210
Ric I use an Elan IR system for our room and have been very happy with it ... Elan Home Systems


Rick
Our Room

smile
Re: IR Repeater System
RickF #281647 12/07/09 02:30 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
Assuming Eric isn't still drunk from the Hab's 100th Season Birthday celebrations, he does have a reasonable alternative. My URC RF remote seems to send signals flawlessly to the basement setup from my first floor. It has trouble from the second floor but I blame all the shiny reflective heat sinks in the floors from my in-floor heating. My original wireless router was not strong enough to make it through these either.

An IR repeater may be more economical, however.


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: IR Repeater System
Murph #282027 12/10/09 09:31 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
I'm going through the same process w/ my home remodel. I want to run some components in the garage and the display in the media room. I'm going to assume you already have a method to run the video/audio line to the TV, which alone has it's own can of worms.

For the remote, the RF remote suggestions above are very doable. Another choice is to use an RF remote converter.

http://www.weaknees.com/rf-remote-details.php

It's relatively cheap and it works w/ many remotes since the RF portion is actually built into the battery. I've used it very successfully with an URC6131 remote. I use those because of the DVR buttons and it's CHEAP, <$20, looks like it even has a new version, the 6131N. You can drop/break 'em and replace 'em. I've had them work over 50' through walls w/ no issues. Sadly, I couldn't get it to work with my Harmony 688 or 659. I think the cheaper remotes emit more RF during the button presses, which this unit relies on.

Re: IR Repeater System
oldskoolboarder #282124 12/11/09 07:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 110
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 110
I've been using a Harmony 890 in a setup similar to your question. It's performed without fail for 3 years now and even the wife loves it. I've controlled things from the second floor to equipment in the basement without issue. It's very easy to program and is really comfortable in your hand. No need to look at it to use it. I also have a Harmony 880(no RF) that I use in the basement for the equipment and nothing interferes. Highly recommend if it's still available.


HG Cherry M60's,VP150,Qs8's,EP350
Re: IR Repeater System
Sloped #282127 12/11/09 07:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
I'm going to have one system in my living room and another complete system in a bedroom.

1) Using RF remotes, can you control 2 home theaters in your home with a single remote, even though some of the components are the same model?

2) And, can I use 2 remotes, where one controls the living room and another one controls the bedroom (both with same model of components) without interference with the other room?

Re: IR Repeater System
CatBrat #282129 12/11/09 07:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,400
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,400

1) Each device can be assigned a specific repeater and a specific port on a repeater so you can control two identifical devices as two separate devices

2) In the case of Harmony, the repeaters and the remote are paired together, so in theory you should be able to have any number you like operating at the same time.


E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3
Re: IR Repeater System
EFalardeau #282358 12/14/09 05:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,361
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,361
+1 on the Harmony 890


Panny 3000 PJ, 118" Carada, Denon 3300, PS3, Axiom QS8, PSB 5T, B&W sub, levitating speaker wire
Re: IR Repeater System
Zimm #282811 12/17/09 07:36 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 20
S
hobbyist
Offline
hobbyist
S
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 20
Go to Nextgen http://www.nextgen.us/default.htm they have a really good IR repeater/extender that converts IR to RF via batteries. You might try the "remote extender genius" model. This allows you to use the original remote control or a universal remote. Not too expensive also.

Last edited by stanmanh; 12/17/09 07:48 PM.

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,398
Posts432,333
Members15,419
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 248 guests, and 0 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4