You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st?

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#302555 - 04/20/10 02:08 AM Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st?
mpyw Offline
local

Registered: 07/24/09
Posts: 288
Loc: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
I always wanted to change my surround speakers to the QS8 but I am really fedup with my Marantz SR6003 HDMI handshake problem that require me to on/off or switched to other input for a while and back to get the full HDMI signal be it for the video or audio....

Am using the Orb Audio'd mod1 as my surround now.....
and the Yamaha RX-V3900 is looking very good as it comes to it's product end life with very good street price ....

What do u guys say?

Top
#302557 - 04/20/10 03:10 AM Re: Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st? [Re: mpyw]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Michael, it depends how "fedup" you really are with the 6003 problem(which I'm not familiar with), but my general view is that I'd certainly rather have the excellent QS8s and put up with the inconvenience that you've described.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#302574 - 04/20/10 10:02 AM Re: Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st? [Re: JohnK]
axiomoholic Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/20/10
Posts: 110
Is your hand shaking issue to a cable box? Is so, replace your hdmi cable with a component cable. I hated the idea, and resisted it completely, but in my case, my cable box's highest output was 1080i anyway, so I didn't lose anything - except most of my hand shaking issues.

Try that, and maybe you'll be able to take the speaker upgrade route were I think you'll get more satisfaction.

Top
#302596 - 04/20/10 01:46 PM Re: Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st? [Re: axiomoholic]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6890
Loc: It's all about the location.
Usually you get the best deals on Receivers around the end of the year(here anyway) so you might want to keep that in mind as well. I'd go for the Q's now and when you have some more coin and you see a decent sale, consider a change in AVR's if the problem bothers you enough.
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top
#302598 - 04/20/10 01:53 PM Re: Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st? [Re: axiomoholic]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I agree, if the handshake issue is with a cable box only then the move to component makes sense. I had to hook up my sister's system in this manner, everything now works great.

You might possibly benefit from checking with Marantz on it's firmware, you might need to send the 6003 in for service and a firmware upgrade to the latest sversion they have for it, if theyu have made any changes. But judging by this bit of info I found on their web site, I think they are not in the habit of adjusting their firmware.

"Assuming everything in your system has been connected and assigned correctly, the first thing that can be tried is to factory reset the set top box. You may need assistance from the manufacturer of the set top box to do this if it is not outlined in the instruction manual. This would also require you to readjust any of the settings as necessary for your system requirements. If this does not clear the problem, then power down the display and the receiver. Reset the set top box once again and then power it off. Then turn the display on first, then the A/V receiver and then the set top box. The reason for this procedure is to force the set top box to reinitiate the HDMI 'handshake' protocol as in many cases it was connected to a display directly and memorized the display's handshake protocol which of course is different from a receiver's handshake protocol. This generally works for later vintage set top boxes.

If not, you may need a firmware upgrade to the box so it will 'handshake' with an HDMI repeating device (your receiver). To do this you will need to call the service provider and ask them to send the update to the box. This update is called a "repeater flag firmware update." This can usually can be done through the phone/cable/satellite feed while you are on the phone. If you are still unable to get your HDMI to operate properly, as an alternative, connecting directly to the receiver using component video cables, and a digital optical or coaxial cable, can provide you with similar video and audio quality. Many current model receivers video up convert component video to HDMI video so your existing HDMI connection to your display should not have to be changed. The receiver's instruction manual will tell you if this video up convert feature is available."
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#302636 - 04/20/10 08:28 PM Re: Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st? [Re: jakewash]
mpyw Offline
local

Registered: 07/24/09
Posts: 288
Loc: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
The set top box problem?
Never think of that. But according to my satellite service provider, their set top box will only send out 576p picture if it is not connected using HDMI.
And I've already have this problem even before our HD set top box being install and the old set top box were connected using s-video during that time.
And worst, i've sold off my component cable since I ditch my DVD player (ouch!), and only have those audio cable with me (still have the Emotiva ultra series RCA cable), can I use those?

I've sent the SR6003 to update the firmware just 2 weeks back to solve the problem, however, even after update, it didn't help... \:\(

Top
#302640 - 04/20/10 09:14 PM Re: Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st? [Re: mpyw]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
"Component" cables are simply coaxial cables with RCA plugs on the ends, which is also what the Emotiva cables are.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#302872 - 04/22/10 04:07 PM Re: Change speakers 1st or the AVR 1st? [Re: JohnK]
Zimm Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 1361
Loc: New Orleans
Do what I did; get a 10 year old AVR without HDMI, run the HDMI directly to the projector and then buy the QS8 with the money from your old (but newer) AVR.

Seriously, power cycling would be a pain in the arse. I love the QS8. Best speaker value I know of, hands down. But the handshake is a problem. That would turn me off Marantz, and I really like that company.
_________________________
Panny 3000 PJ, 118" Carada, Denon 3300, PS3, Axiom QS8, PSB 5T, B&W sub, levitating speaker wire

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,270 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,071 Topics
425,063 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11693
MarkSJohnson 11444
1 registered (CV)
187 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup