Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Help With Dual Subs
#366241 02/10/12 07:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,343
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,343
Hi,

Apologies for not babbling about my visit to Axiom last week. Had a great time and will post about it when time permits. Since getting back home the contractors have returned so my time is not my own.

.........for anyone who would like some cheese with that whine I have a very nice old sharp cheddar.

Now to the problem at hand, last night I spent many a happy hour trying to get two subwoofers to work.

I suspect the answer is a very simple one but come midnight I gave up on the problem. I thought I'd turn here for a little help as I don't seem to be able to find a quiet minute to think this through.

As I used to create engineering drawings before I retired I thought I'd show you all the options I tried, I hope it's not too technical for everyone.





Option A - cable to sub #1, it worked
Option B - cable to sub #2, it worked
Option C - using "Y" & cable to sub #1, it worked
Option D - using "Y" & cable to sub #2, it worked
Option E, using "Y" and cables to both subs, Nothing Worked.

I know the curious amongst you will wonder how i managed to find the time to do the drawing when apparently i don't have the time to solve the problem.... a topic best left for a later date.

Receiver Denon AVR890
Sub #1 Axiom EP3350
Sub #2 Paradign DSP3400
Two different Y-cables were tried both male to 2 female.

Your thoughts?

Last edited by FordPrefect; 02/10/12 07:21 PM. Reason: spellin and granmaw

getting to 2,000 posts; one year at a time vp160/qs8/qs4/ep350/m60/m2200s
Re: Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect #366245 02/10/12 07:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,690
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,690
Likes: 1
hmm, assuming your splitting it at the sub pre-out jack on the receiver it should work fine. For my 2 350's it works that way, or if I just run one coax to Sub1 pre in, then a second shorter cable from Sub1 (preout) to Sub2 (prein). What if you do option A above, but then run a cable from the 350 to the other sub (name not mentioned here). smile


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Help With Dual Subs
SirQuack #366248 02/10/12 07:34 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 484
devotee
Offline
devotee
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 484
Are both subs set to power on when a signal is detected? If so, try the On setting instead of Auto. Any better? The subs might not be getting enough juice when the signal is split.

Re: Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect #366249 02/10/12 07:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,343
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,343
makes sense I'll try it tonight when the herd has gone home.

I still don't know why the current setup won't work.

lunch is over, back later....


getting to 2,000 posts; one year at a time vp160/qs8/qs4/ep350/m60/m2200s
Re: Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect #366255 02/10/12 08:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
Puzzling. Too bad there wasn't a way to tap into the circuit with a multi-meter when they are plugged in.

[Edit] A thought, maybe you could use your extra Y connector for that. You don't need one on both cables. Put it on the sub you are running, measure, then plug the other sub in and measure again.

Last edited by Murph; 02/10/12 08:44 PM. Reason: I woke up.

With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect #366257 02/10/12 08:34 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
T
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
Long cables?

I'm thinking the same as Kruncher; that your receiver isn't putting out enough voltage to wake them both up.


bibere usque ad hilaritatem
Re: Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect #366265 02/10/12 10:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,690
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,690
Likes: 1
where do you have the dB levels set for the sub channel, maybe you have it at like -12dB, which ties in with what Krunch and Tommy Boy say... Why not let Audyssey do the work?


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect #366274 02/11/12 12:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,786
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,786
The answer is as simple as the diagram. You ran out of Boom Boom at D.

Let me know when its back. I like my cheddar with Boom Boom. grin


Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!
Re: Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect #366279 02/11/12 03:21 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,648
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,648
Wayne, the high level of technical complexity of your drawings did in fact require considerable study to determine why you were complaining. What can be said at this point is what the problem isn't: connecting a voltage source in parallel to two loads doesn't create a "voltage divider" in the technical meaning of the term(a series connection does that); each load receives the original voltage. For example, if the sub out from the receiver at a particular instant is 1 volt, each sub amplifier connected in parallel receives 1 volt(not a half volt).

That's all very well, but the question of course is what the problem is, then. It appears that both branches of the "Y" and both coax cables are working separately, but didn't work together in "E". This makes no apparent sense. Although the amount of time that you spent indicates that you probably double-checked the connections carefully, I'll nevertheless suggest one remote possibility which afflicted one of our members a few years ago: in making cable changes he inadvertently plugged into the multi-channel sub input on the receiver rather than the sub out. Are you certain this didn't happen when you ran "E"? If this isn't it, I'll continue to ponder the matter, but my next best guess at this point would be Fred's suggestion that you ran out of Boom Boom after "D".


-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.


Re: Help With Dual Subs
FordPrefect #366282 02/11/12 03:50 AM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,116
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,116
Originally Posted By: FordPrefect
Hi,

Apologies for not babbling about my visit to Axiom last week. Had a great time and will post about it when time permits. Since getting back home the contractors have returned so my time is not my own.

.........for anyone who would like some cheese with that whine I have a very nice old sharp cheddar.

Now to the problem at hand, last night I spent many a happy hour trying to get two subwoofers to work.

I suspect the answer is a very simple one but come midnight I gave up on the problem. I thought I'd turn here for a little help as I don't seem to be able to find a quiet minute to think this through.

As I used to create engineering drawings before I retired I thought I'd show you all the options I tried, I hope it's not too technical for everyone.





Option A - cable to sub #1, it worked
Option B - cable to sub #2, it worked
Option C - using "Y" & cable to sub #1, it worked
Option D - using "Y" & cable to sub #2, it worked
Option E, using "Y" and cables to both subs, Nothing Worked.

I know the curious amongst you will wonder how i managed to find the time to do the drawing when apparently i don't have the time to solve the problem.... a topic best left for a later date.

Receiver Denon AVR890
Sub #1 Axiom EP3350
Sub #2 Paradign DSP3400
Two different Y-cables were tried both male to 2 female.

Your thoughts?


What are the exact Y-cables you are using? I have experienced something similar before setting up dual subwoofers and it was caused by using a very cheap splitter. A single sub would work on either end of the Y but combined only the one sub would work. The quality of the splitter was exactly what you see in the supplied cables when you buy a DVD player but a male to 2 female adapter equivalent.

Make sure the splitter is spec'd for 75 ohms. I purchased a splitter from Blue Jeans cable for $2.50 and it solved the problem. Perhaps you have a similar issue with the Y splitter you are using.


I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,396
Posts432,279
Members15,418
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
2 members (nagarajbr, rrlev), 217 guests, and 1 robot.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4