Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
HDMI question
#373131 04/12/12 05:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
Just a quick HDMI question. I have a Denon 3808 for reference.

If I'm listening to audio through HDMI, it will "mute" if another HDMI component is turned off or on.

For instance, I'm just now listening to the Rush - Moving Pictures B-D disc that came in a few minutes ago. I had my TV on since the beginning of the disc, but I just turned it off mid-disc. So, my B-D player's audio was muted for 3-4 seconds...which irritates me. The same thing happens with any of my other HDMI-connected devices.

Is this an inherent HDMI handshaking issue? I assume so, because my editing computer has two 24" monitors connected via HDMI, and one momentarily turns itself off/on when the other is turned off/on.

It's annoying enough to me that I'm considering doubling up on some HDMI-connected equipment with analog audio when I re-do my system this weekend...assuming my receiver has enough available inputs!


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: HDMI question
MarkSJohnson #373140 04/12/12 06:45 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
It's that the receiver functions as an HDMI repeater. Since it isn't a display, it has to pass on the resolution information of the display connected to it. So when the display turns off, it becomes an end device, and re-handshakes with the source with the updated information.

I've seen devices that go between the receiver and display that are always on, and lock to the display's information. These are mostly to keep the receiver advertising at least 1080i so you can get multi-channel audio at over 48 kHz (8 channels of 24/94 audio is too much to multiplex with 480p video, which most receivers default to). I just usually tell my Pioneer plasma to turn off the display, while keeping the rest active so I don't get the audio drop-out, and can maintain full quality.


Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris
Re: HDMI question
MarkSJohnson #373143 04/12/12 07:27 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
T
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
Program some macros.

There, I fixed it.

grin

Honestly, I don't have this problem with my Onkyo, and I wonder if it has something to do with how you've got stuff wired. Are you sending output from the TV to the Receiver or vice-versa?


bibere usque ad hilaritatem
Re: HDMI question
tomtuttle #373144 04/12/12 07:39 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,169
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,169
I don't think anything is wired wrong. I have the exact same issue, it's just that I so rarely turn off the TV when audio is playing that this has never bothered me like it does Mark.

Chris - how do you tell you your Pio plasma to turn off the display without turning off the TV? I have a Pio plasma as well so am very curious.


Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1
Re: HDMI question
MarkSJohnson #373146 04/12/12 08:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
I'm not in front of it now, but in the tool menu (I think), there's an option: "Display: Off", then any button turns it back on (I think, again).


Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris
Re: HDMI question
MarkSJohnson #373265 04/13/12 09:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
J
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
J
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
Mark, you don't happen to have HDMI control turned on in the 3808? If you do I would try turning this feature off and see if it helps.


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Re: HDMI question
MarkSJohnson #373269 04/13/12 09:54 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
Guys, I'm sorry....I got busy with other things and forgot I had even posted this question.

Tom, everything routes into my receiver, with an HDMI output to the monitor.

I'm planning on adding to that when I reroute the system shortly. Because my LG monitor is not simply an end display now, but also a source (Amazon, YouTube....a full browser), I want to bring an audio feed from the LG back to the receiver so I get better audio with these sources.

Jason, I don't believe that the 3808 has that option, I'll have to check.

I don't want to spend the money, but I sometimes wonder if a new receiver wouldn't make nice with everything. More (and newer) 3D-capable HDMI ports. And maybe a new Oppo.

Damn. I've already entered V2.0 of my HT with a new, bigger TV, the 160, and an outboard amp. Where does it end??? grin


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: HDMI question
MarkSJohnson #373275 04/13/12 11:02 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
Newer HDMI chips do re-handshake much more quickly, but there will still likely be a blip in the audio.

Last edited by ClubNeon; 04/13/12 11:03 PM. Reason: Improved English

Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris
Re: HDMI question
ClubNeon #373281 04/13/12 11:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 901
S
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
S
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 901
Speaking of HDMI...I buy this new Gateway system they have from Shaw Cable and I have been having fallouts in the sound and then last night I went to turn the TV on and NO sound.

So..I went to go online and get the number, no cable? I phone them, and we finally get my cable going. The next day(today) I wake up and no sound on the TV.

After all of this, I went and unplugged my cable box ,and now it`s GOLDEN.

I just had to reset it.


Life is good!

Last edited by SBrown; 04/13/12 11:20 PM.
Re: HDMI question
MarkSJohnson #373335 04/14/12 04:15 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
J
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
J
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
Originally Posted By: MarkSJohnson


Jason, I don't believe that the 3808 has that option, I'll have to check.

I don't want to spend the money, but I sometimes wonder if a new receiver wouldn't make nice with everything. More (and newer) 3D-capable HDMI ports. And maybe a new Oppo.


You're right the 3808 doesn't enable HDMI control (It was a shot in the dark, I had to look it up too) it just passes the signal thru from the other components, maybe double check those items and turn the feature off and see if it helps at all.

To enable the ARC(Audio Return Channel - HDMI 1.4 spec) from your TV you will need to buy a new AVR with HDMI 1.4 specs or you could use the digital output, usually optical from what I have seen on most of the TV's I have looked at, back to the 3808.


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,437
Posts433,086
Members15,428
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,696
CV 11,829
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (norap), 269 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4