You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Two subs and audyssey...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#379095 - 06/26/12 09:49 AM Two subs and audyssey...
Shoie Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 06/18/09
Posts: 32
Loc: Paris On, Canada
Any ideas on how to properly run a version of audyssey that can only calibrate one sub using two? Do I leave the second sub unplugged while it's running? Also, how does the "sub crawl" work with two subs? Thanks
_________________________
Always upgrading...

Top
#379098 - 06/26/12 10:53 AM Re: Two subs and audyssey... [Re: Shoie]
Clovis Offline
buff

Registered: 09/07/03
Posts: 42
Loc: Goa, India
Are the sub woofers identical? Hopefully they are. I used two subs before Audyssey came along but since they weren't identical it meant the better one did most of the work, but I did miss the subtle bass of the other sub. I didn't do the sub woofer crawl procedure... I just placed them in separate corners.
_________________________
Clovis de Cruz

Top
#379113 - 06/26/12 05:34 PM Re: Two subs and audyssey... [Re: Shoie]
Joe_in_SC Offline
devotee

Registered: 02/16/04
Posts: 309
Loc: Charleston, SC
There's a good write up here at Audioholics about dual sub set up and calibration.
_________________________
I started out with nothing & I've still got most of it left
M60 VP160 QS8 EP350
M22 VP100
Algonquins

Top
#379118 - 06/26/12 11:08 PM Re: Two subs and audyssey... [Re: Shoie]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13571
Loc: Iowa
It can be done. The two subs have to be the identical distance from the mic to give you the best results. Also, since earlier versions of Audyssey won't calibrate them independently, you need to run preliminary test tones using an spl meter, to get the gain on each sub exact. Turn one off, calibrate the other, turn that one off, calibrate the first one.

It works great for my twin 350's, but when I throw in the ep600 (yes 3 subs) the DSP messes up the distance measurement. So, I only run Audyssey for my 350's which are up front, with matching distanced and dB level. I also adjust my ep600, which is in the back of the room, to have the same spl on the meter, as the front 350's combined. Sounds pretty killer.

To confirm, the ep600 is not turned on while running the Audyssey sweeps.


Edited by SirQuack (06/26/12 11:13 PM)
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#379131 - 06/27/12 06:50 AM Re: Two subs and audyssey... [Re: Shoie]
Shoie Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 06/18/09
Posts: 32
Loc: Paris On, Canada
Thanks, I'll give that a try!
_________________________
Always upgrading...

Top
#379185 - 06/27/12 09:15 PM Re: Two subs and audyssey... [Re: Shoie]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10623
Michael, you should also study the Audioholics info that Joe linked, which is quite good for the most part. Basically, the problem is that most receivers, including most "7.2" models have only one sub output internal circuit and can't make different distance and level settings(if needed)for two connected subs. So, that should be done manually before running Audyssey room EQ. Then Audyssey EQ can be run with the two subs operating simultaneously.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#379196 - 06/27/12 10:39 PM Re: Two subs and audyssey... [Re: Shoie]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
Sure John.... Don't send him off to the 1,000 page thread.............. wink

Top
#379198 - 06/27/12 11:15 PM Re: Two subs and audyssey... [Re: dakkon]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10623
Alex, does this imply that you still haven't made it through the 1000 pages?
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#379199 - 06/27/12 11:28 PM Re: Two subs and audyssey... [Re: Shoie]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
im on page 469.... GRrrrr.. crazy


No, not really... I am just waiting to get a processor with audyssey, then i will just bug the crap out of you wink

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,238 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,017 Topics
424,292 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (BBIBH)
50 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup