Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
4 registered (MarkSJohnson, J. B., Spoiler, oakvillematt), 45 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13365 Members
11 Forums
23109 Topics
408646 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17869
pmbuko 16328
SirQuack 13356
CV 11414
MarkSJohnson 11082
Meanwhile On Facebook

Any roadies / concert lovers out there think this is as cool as I do?

󾓶Ay, caramba! Our 'sneak peek' announcement in this morning's newsletter genera...

󾔸 Testing various operating systems with our new High Power Computer Speakers t...

Kick it up for Tone!

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#384401 - 10/19/12 04:59 PM HDMI switches
sonicfox Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/01/02
Posts: 906
Loc: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Anyone get these to work properly? I bought one because I had no idea when I decided on a new receiver a couple years ago that I'd actually NEED one. Figures! Well, I got one from Monoprice and it's supposed to do automatic switching. Well, it doesn't in my case. I wouldn't mind it so much if it would pass the signal like it should. The picture and sound disappear as fast as it shows up. It's frustrating.
_________________________
M60s
VP150
QS8s
Marantz SR6003
Samsung LN52B550
Oppo DV-980H
Insignia NS-WBRDVD

Top
#384407 - 10/19/12 06:40 PM Re: HDMI switches [Re: sonicfox]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
In my limited experience they are hit-or-miss. I bought one locally but it wouldn’t play nice with my Xbox360 so I returned it and got one from Monprice which has worked fine for the last 5 years. However, the one I bought is manual switching, but was programmable into my remote.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#384507 - 10/22/12 07:54 AM Re: HDMI switches [Re: sonicfox]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6894
Loc: PEI, Canada
Agreed. They are hit and miss. My current one is a NexXTech from the local "The Source" and it wasn't built to auto-switch but it works seamlessly from my universal remote. It actually replaced a Monoprice switch that did not work well at all with my equipment. It it's defense, it works fine for a friend's gear whom I gave it to.

It seems that HDMI standards are not very standard. What might work for you might have trouble with another person's combination.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#384511 - 10/22/12 10:25 AM Re: HDMI switches [Re: sonicfox]
casey01 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 792
Loc: Toronto
Originally Posted By: sonicfox
Anyone get these to work properly? I bought one because I had no idea when I decided on a new receiver a couple years ago that I'd actually NEED one. Figures! Well, I got one from Monoprice and it's supposed to do automatic switching. Well, it doesn't in my case. I wouldn't mind it so much if it would pass the signal like it should. The picture and sound disappear as fast as it shows up. It's frustrating.


You might also want to check out the units from "Atlona", more expensive but a big well known company in to commercial as well as residential. They do sell on line directly, however, I would recommend "B&H Photo" in NYC, generally they are quite a bit less costly than Atlona direct and carry most of their line(which is substantial).

Top
#384513 - 10/22/12 11:04 AM Re: HDMI switches [Re: sonicfox]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17871
Loc: NoVA
I have had success with a monoprice switch without auto-switch. I'm not using it any more, though. If you'd like it, send me a PM.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#384515 - 10/22/12 11:53 AM Re: HDMI switches [Re: sonicfox]
MarkSJohnson Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 11083
Loc: Central NH
Mary, he might demand a cookie for sending it. Evidently, it's his weak spot!
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#384527 - 10/22/12 04:16 PM Re: HDMI switches [Re: Ken.C]
sonicfox Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/01/02
Posts: 906
Loc: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Originally Posted By: Ken.C
I have had success with a monoprice switch without auto-switch. I'm not using it any more, though. If you'd like it, send me a PM.


Ken, thanks for the offer, and I might take you up on that! This is the one I bought. It's supposed to do automatic switching and manual as well. My problem is not all devices work on it no matter what. The light on the switch shows the device is connected, but when I choose that device, the picture & sound go away as fast as it shows up. Do you think it might be a problem with the cables? The website recommends 24AWG cables, but I don't know what mine are.
_________________________
M60s
VP150
QS8s
Marantz SR6003
Samsung LN52B550
Oppo DV-980H
Insignia NS-WBRDVD

Top
#384528 - 10/22/12 04:19 PM Re: HDMI switches [Re: sonicfox]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17871
Loc: NoVA
This is pretty much what I have, without the extra graphics on the top.

It proabably wouldn't hurt to try one of their cables. I bought some with the switch (using them now without it), but I had some bundled-in cables with various pieces of equipment I also used that worked just fine.


Edited by Ken.C (10/22/12 04:20 PM)
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.