Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
HDMI switches
#384401 10/19/12 08:59 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 914
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 914
Anyone get these to work properly? I bought one because I had no idea when I decided on a new receiver a couple years ago that I'd actually NEED one. Figures! Well, I got one from Monoprice and it's supposed to do automatic switching. Well, it doesn't in my case. I wouldn't mind it so much if it would pass the signal like it should. The picture and sound disappear as fast as it shows up. It's frustrating.


M60s
VP150
QS8s
Marantz SR6003
Samsung LN52B550
Oppo DV-980H
Insignia NS-WBRDVD
Re: HDMI switches
sonicfox #384407 10/19/12 10:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
In my limited experience they are hit-or-miss. I bought one locally but it wouldn’t play nice with my Xbox360 so I returned it and got one from Monprice which has worked fine for the last 5 years. However, the one I bought is manual switching, but was programmable into my remote.


3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1
Re: HDMI switches
sonicfox #384507 10/22/12 11:54 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
Agreed. They are hit and miss. My current one is a NexXTech from the local "The Source" and it wasn't built to auto-switch but it works seamlessly from my universal remote. It actually replaced a Monoprice switch that did not work well at all with my equipment. It it's defense, it works fine for a friend's gear whom I gave it to.

It seems that HDMI standards are not very standard. What might work for you might have trouble with another person's combination.


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: HDMI switches
sonicfox #384511 10/22/12 02:25 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 863
Likes: 1
C
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
C
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 863
Likes: 1
Originally Posted By: sonicfox
Anyone get these to work properly? I bought one because I had no idea when I decided on a new receiver a couple years ago that I'd actually NEED one. Figures! Well, I got one from Monoprice and it's supposed to do automatic switching. Well, it doesn't in my case. I wouldn't mind it so much if it would pass the signal like it should. The picture and sound disappear as fast as it shows up. It's frustrating.


You might also want to check out the units from "Atlona", more expensive but a big well known company in to commercial as well as residential. They do sell on line directly, however, I would recommend "B&H Photo" in NYC, generally they are quite a bit less costly than Atlona direct and carry most of their line(which is substantial).

Re: HDMI switches
sonicfox #384513 10/22/12 03:04 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
I have had success with a monoprice switch without auto-switch. I'm not using it any more, though. If you'd like it, send me a PM.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: HDMI switches
sonicfox #384515 10/22/12 03:53 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
Mary, he might demand a cookie for sending it. Evidently, it's his weak spot!


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: HDMI switches
Ken.C #384527 10/22/12 08:16 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 914
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 914
Originally Posted By: Ken.C
I have had success with a monoprice switch without auto-switch. I'm not using it any more, though. If you'd like it, send me a PM.


Ken, thanks for the offer, and I might take you up on that! This is the one I bought. It's supposed to do automatic switching and manual as well. My problem is not all devices work on it no matter what. The light on the switch shows the device is connected, but when I choose that device, the picture & sound go away as fast as it shows up. Do you think it might be a problem with the cables? The website recommends 24AWG cables, but I don't know what mine are.


M60s
VP150
QS8s
Marantz SR6003
Samsung LN52B550
Oppo DV-980H
Insignia NS-WBRDVD
Re: HDMI switches
sonicfox #384528 10/22/12 08:19 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
This is pretty much what I have, without the extra graphics on the top.

It proabably wouldn't hurt to try one of their cables. I bought some with the switch (using them now without it), but I had some bundled-in cables with various pieces of equipment I also used that worked just fine.

Last edited by Ken.C; 10/22/12 08:20 PM.

I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,434
Posts433,029
Members15,428
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,693
CV 11,828
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 235 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4