Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Need a new router
#388039 01/09/13 10:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 130
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 130
Hi guys! My router at home has been giving me a few problems lately, mainly I can't connect to the internet or it boots me off. It's a Cisco Links WRT54G (I've had it for about 8 years now). I'm in the market for a new one. I have my Xbox 360 connected directly to it, then I have my PS3 and laptop that are connected to it wireless. I do play video games online.

I was needing some help to pick one out. My budget will just be south of $80-$90. Any help is appreciated!

Also, I do have one other question. I was wanting to hook my modem up downstairs to my A/V system. I also have Cox Cable. Can I use a two way splitter to hook that up, or do I have to have a dedicated line going outside to my cable box? Thanks again!


2 = M60,4 = QS8's,1 = VP150,1 = EP350,1 = EP500
HK247
Optoma HD70,110" DIY screen
Xbox360 & PS3
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388050 01/10/13 12:16 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
T
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
I replaced an old WRT54G with a Linksys E3000 a while back. Completely satisfied.

I'm totally baffled by your other question, though. Do you have Cox Cable for internet, too? If not, who provides your internet? Is it colocated with the Cable box or what?

Sorry. I really tried. Maybe I need a cocktail first.

Professionals will be along shortly.


bibere usque ad hilaritatem
Re: Need a new router
tomtuttle #388051 01/10/13 01:07 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,169
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,169
Well, I don't know about professionals but I'm here! crazy

I replaced that exact router a few years ago as I wanted faster wireless. Initially I bought the D-Link DIR###(can't recall model but it's outdated anyway now) because it had some really flexible functionality. Unfortunately it simply would not play nice with my Sonos system no matter what I did - random unexplained disconnects. I switched back to the old router and everything worked perfect so I knew it wasn't the Sonos system. I returned the D-Link and bought a Linksys and have been going trouble free for over 3 years. Have only rebooted a few times. I like other D Link products but my best success on routers has been with Linksys. YMMV.

I am equally baffled by the cable question, can you add more details?


Last edited by cb919; 01/10/13 01:08 AM. Reason: also need cocktails

Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388052 01/10/13 01:21 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
Using Linksys here with a router and 2 unmanaged switches and a hub, couldn't be happier. Everything is gigabit and I can transfer files at 111 MB/s . As for your AV receiver I assume its network capable. If you can run a cat5e or cat 6 cable from your router down to your basement,from there you can use a switch or hub if you want to have more than just your receiver hooked to the internet.. I live in the Yukon and it gets -40 here and all I did was drill a hole in my wall and run the cable one the outside of the house. Goin on 3 yrs no problems.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388057 01/10/13 01:54 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
devotee
Offline
devotee
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
Linksys is made by Cisco, Cisco is best in the world and used in major businesses. They practically develope routers.

What you also want to look into is a router that does 2.4 and 5 ghz simutaneously. You can get simu and switchable, meaning you run either 2.4 or 5ghz. Your movies and games run on the 5ghz and computers, VOIP etc on the 2.4ghz.

Gaming takes bandwidth, this would not slow down your internet if it is on 5 ghz.
I have a seperate Dlink Bridge hooked up to my AMP and it is hooked up wired to this wireless Bridge, which is connected to the Cisco wireless.
Dlink is good but get atleast the Extreme. Do not get Belkin, drops connections alot but cheap. If you can afford to spend the extra $50 it is better worth it.


Pioneer sc-1525
M80 HG Cherry
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388073 01/10/13 01:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
I also share a hate for DLink products. I cringe when I get into working with a customer who wants to go VOIP and the closets are full of cheap DLink switches or other budget models. For that reason, I have no personal experience with thier home product line so I can't truly comment on the home line. However, my thoughts are that if they won't spend the R&D to make reliable business models, how could I expect them to be better on the residential line.

I'm also puzzled on the 2nd question. I assume you must have a cable modem from your ISP. Unfortunately my company lives in the fiber and copper world. Cable is the enemy. heheh. I haven't done networking on coax since my school daze where there was still,among other things, an aging VAX VMS network on token ring. Yup, I'm old.

Generally though, you would not 'normally' consider networking your house via coax. Also, you would not normally try to split your ISP's feed ahead of the modem and run two modems/routers. It may or not be technically possible but I doubt very much your ISP would support splitting it ahead of their supplied modem.

If that is what you mean, instead do as others have suggested. Buy a small Ethernet switch and then run Cat5 or 6 to everywhere you need a connection in your house. Wireless is indeed also a much improved option these days as well.


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388075 01/10/13 02:01 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
Cisco is NOT the best in the world, and they certainly don't put their high end routing gear into Linksys.

Personally, I'd still go with Linksys, Netgear, or Apple (if you already have Apple stuff) for home use.

2.4Ghz and 5Ghz have nothing at all to do with speed of the connection. It's all about interference and distance. 5Ghz will have less interference from microwaves, cordless phones, other people's wireless, but it will not extend as far as 2.4.

Unless you live in Kansas City (or only use the earliest version of wifi), I guarantee that your internet connection is slower than your wireless connection.

I hate DLink as well.

As far as upstairs/downstairs, like everyone else said, split the connection AFTER your router, not before. Use ethernet or wifi to get from upstairs to downstairs.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Need a new router
cb919 #388076 01/10/13 02:54 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,169
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,169
Originally Posted By: cb919

...
I returned the D-Link and bought a Linksys and have been going trouble free for over 3 years. Have only rebooted a few times. I like other D Link products but my best success on routers has been with Linksys. YMMV.
...


Guys, I never said I hate D Link products, just that their router did not work for me whereas the Linksys did. I have a D Link NAS that has served me well for several years - well worth the entry level price I paid for it.

Good to hear your opinion though as this is your area of expertise and I am just a home hobby hack!

Cheers,


Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388077 01/10/13 03:00 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
Yeah, hate is awful strong. Let's just say mistrust.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388078 01/10/13 03:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
My vote would be this Linksys E3200 refurb for $65 from Amazon:

Next choice, if you can up the budget a tad, would be this Asus RT-N56U for $108.

I got both of these recommendations from the excellent gadget review site, The Wirecutter.


I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,376
Posts431,993
Members15,416
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,686
CV 11,805
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 110 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4