Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Denon AVR Problem
#402103 03/23/14 09:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
C
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
C
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
I purchased an x4000 a few months ago and lately I've had problems with the source input changing itself at apparently random times. This is independent of the source that is being used at the time, and independent of cables that are being used as I've changed them and have the same results. I will be using the DVD input and it will switch itself to CBL/SAT (despite there being nothing connected to that input), and if I simply plug what I'm using into the CBL/SAT input then it will switch itself to PHONO (with nothing connected into phono). This does not happen often, but enough to be very annoying. I did a hard reset in the receiver and this did not help. Also checked the batteries in the remote and they are brand new with full charge reading on a multimeter. Any ideas? Thanks.


M60|VP150|2xQS8|PSA XS30+Epik Empire|Pioneer Kuro 6010FD|PS3|Denon AVR-X4000|Parasound 5250v.2|
Re: Denon AVR Problem
Crimson Wrath #402105 03/23/14 10:24 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,767
E
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
E
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,767
Perhaps the remote is randomly firing by itself.

Have you tried 'hiding' the remote so that the AVR can't see it?

TAM

Re: Denon AVR Problem
exlabdriver #402106 03/23/14 11:09 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
C
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
C
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
Yeah, took the batteries out for a while and it still happens. If it's still the remote causing it then I should probably be more concerned with paranormal activity than electrical issues shocked I found some possible solutions on AVS and will try those. Bought the AVR from non-Denon authorized dealer so hopefully it gets resolved.


M60|VP150|2xQS8|PSA XS30+Epik Empire|Pioneer Kuro 6010FD|PS3|Denon AVR-X4000|Parasound 5250v.2|
Re: Denon AVR Problem
Crimson Wrath #402107 03/24/14 12:25 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 185
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 185
Nice receiver! 275 page owners manual.

How and what do you have it connected to? Do you have a home network, etc? I'd wager that it's not paranormal.

Bill

Re: Denon AVR Problem
wilwom #402108 03/24/14 12:51 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
C
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
C
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
It's connected HDMI sources are usually to my laptop or other PC used for gaming. Yes I have it networked, however I disconnected it from the router to see if that was maybe causing the problem and it still happens even with the ethernet disconnected. AVS suggests changing a setting involving standby IP control and resetting the microprocessor a few times. If the problem still continues I may have to replace the HDMI board, which I would have to pay out of pocket for. frown


M60|VP150|2xQS8|PSA XS30+Epik Empire|Pioneer Kuro 6010FD|PS3|Denon AVR-X4000|Parasound 5250v.2|
Re: Denon AVR Problem
Crimson Wrath #402111 03/24/14 01:14 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,682
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,682
Likes: 1
Have you emailed Denon support?


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Denon AVR Problem
Crimson Wrath #402113 03/24/14 02:03 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,644
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,644
So, even if you disconnect every input except one, say DVD, it'll still switch to another input? Don't recall hearing of something like that before. To eliminate a wild theory about some strange random radiation affecting the remote receptor try covering the entire front of the receiver with some opaque object.

Even though you've already done a hard reset, if you didn't do so try the more basic unplug for a few minutes step.


-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.


Re: Denon AVR Problem
JohnK #402114 03/24/14 02:33 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
C
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
C
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
Yeah, it happens if only one input is connected. Will try covering the remote receptor and unplugging for a while to see if that helps. Next step will be contacting Denon support, but not looking for much help with that as it's not under warranty.


M60|VP150|2xQS8|PSA XS30+Epik Empire|Pioneer Kuro 6010FD|PS3|Denon AVR-X4000|Parasound 5250v.2|
Re: Denon AVR Problem
Crimson Wrath #402166 03/26/14 05:59 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
C
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
C
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 89
So I found a way to minimize the issue, and that was to "hide" all of the other inputs besides the one I use the most in the HDMI setup menu. It still occasionally likes to try to switch the source itself, but does not have one to go to so instead the screen just goes black for about 5 seconds and then returns to the original source. I tried unplugging the unit for a while and also covering the sensor to no avail. Need to contact Denon probably but without the warranty I'm not sure it's worth the effort.


M60|VP150|2xQS8|PSA XS30+Epik Empire|Pioneer Kuro 6010FD|PS3|Denon AVR-X4000|Parasound 5250v.2|
Re: Denon AVR Problem
Crimson Wrath #402179 03/26/14 01:51 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 258
Likes: 4
T
local
Offline
local
T
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 258
Likes: 4
Sorry if you have, but it may be worth it to switch HDMI control off on all components, and in the AVR. Worth a try.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,361
Posts431,662
Members15,414
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,682
CV 11,797
MarkSJohnson 11,450
Who's Online Now
1 members (2x6spds), 171 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4