Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
longer run hdmi cables
#405551 06/16/14 05:21 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
M
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
I am getting close to needed to wire my room. The demolition of what is there is nearing to the end so its time to start planning on where everything is going to go so I can start ordering parts.

I am planning at some point in the future to get a bigger Flat Panel TV of some sort. The audio equipment is going to be in the middle of the Right hand wall, so I will need to run an RCA line from there out to the middle of the front wall.

It works out to be less distance to simply go around the perimeter than it does to go up the wall, and directly across then back down. I will need a 20' cable for the run. I can get a nice thick 22AWG high speed HDMI for $40. Now they also sell these RedMere cables that I don't quite know if they are better as it's a built in amp chip but using thinner cable.

Another option that I have toyed with is rather than trying to guess what cable I will need, run a 1 1/2" conduit from the amp location and theoretically you can pull new cables as needed.

Any thoughts?


Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A
Re: longer run hdmi cables
MatManhasgone #405556 06/16/14 05:50 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 43
S
buff
Offline
buff
S
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 43
I would go with the conduit as it gives you an easy way to run cables for any future upgrades you may do as well. As for the Redmere, I would save the extra money and go with a thicker, but cheaper standard HDMI cable unless it has to be snaked through a bunch of tight spaces where the thicker and stiffer cable might create a problem. IIRC, the thinner cable is the only benefit you get from redmere cables.


UMC-200, XPA-3, XPA-5, iNuke 3000DSP, M22's for LCR, 4 QS8's, 2 Ultimax 15" in DIY 12cuft ported box
Re: longer run hdmi cables
MatManhasgone #405557 06/16/14 06:00 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 872
Likes: 3
C
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
C
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 872
Likes: 3
I did, at one time, look at the Redmere cables, however, from my understanding, the design with the chip is essentially to compensate for the thinner cable, not necessarily longer runs. They also are connected with the signal run in only one direction and I have heard of the odd issue with them and would it be worth the risk essentially run in conduit in the wall? Obviously, a further investigation here would be necessary, I think.

There are many HDMI cable options out there, however, one cable I started to use, especially for longer runs and a more secure connection is the "Perfect Path" brand. It is more expensive, however, it is one of the few brands still that actually offers a locking HDMI connection in to one's equipment. I would think this type of cable might have an advantage especially, when the installation is complete and access might be a little more difficult.

Re: longer run hdmi cables
MatManhasgone #405558 06/16/14 06:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,422
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,422
I have a 40 foot HDMI cable (thick bugger too) that I got from Monoprice that I put in when I finished my basement. Works like a charm with no extra signal boosters or anything.

be sure to put the cable in place and test it before finishing the drywall or whatever. I've heard some people test cables while they are still rolled up, and then they don't work after putting them in place.


Farewell - June 4, 2020
Re: longer run hdmi cables
MatManhasgone #405563 06/16/14 07:25 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
M
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
Now to play along the lines of the conduit. The left hand and the front are both outside walls. As such, there is a blanket insulation running down to 18" above the concrete slab floor. In the past I have ripped that out and then replaced it with rigid insulation against the concrete wall, and then roxhul comfort bats to bring me up to R20.

This house, the previous owner hired a contractor who just put in steel studs around the outside walls and drywall. No insulation was added. I can say that the basement has been dry (non of that damp feeling) and it was pretty warm too. I am thinking of just removing the drywall and filling in the gap with insulation to up the R value, but it will also leave a 2" gap around the bottom 18" directly against the concrete.

I am thinking, that would be perfect gap to run a conduit around with no added requirements. Just put it in.

Are there any down side to having your audio equipment on an outside basement wall? Also, is there any shielding concerns with running multiple cables through a conduit? How about adding speaker cables?


Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A
Re: longer run hdmi cables
MatManhasgone #405602 06/18/14 01:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,707
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,707
Likes: 1
I was involved in a complete AV redue at our church this last year and we ran all RedMere cables that we picked up at Monprice. Great technology where you can go great distances and don't have to get "Thick" AWG anymore with same or better performance of longer runs.

http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=102&cp_id=10255


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: longer run hdmi cables
MatManhasgone #405624 06/18/14 08:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 96
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 96
I have a number of long runs each using some monoprice stuff. I have not had an issue yet...

I was supposed to have each run in conduits but it was not done for some reason. I was away when they ran the cable. I explained it will not be a fun day for them the first time I have to try and run a new cable.


Temp.setup - 2.1 - Denon 1713 AVR, Denon 1713 BRD, Paradigm Cinema 200, and Monitor Audio 360 Sub

Re: longer run hdmi cables
MatManhasgone #406343 07/26/14 12:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
hobbyist
Offline
hobbyist
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Might be a little late to this party but as for HDMI runs, I pulled the trigger on a brand I could find no reviews on.

FORSPARK, sold on Amazon, at Newegg and eBay. I purchased mine on eBay. 50ft, non directional, no chips, beefy, hi speed hdmi. It's performed flawlessly thus far. I'm setting up an equipment rack in the back corner of my basement and this hdmi feeds up to my living room TV.

Conduit is always a good idea if it's an affordable situation.


Pan TH-50PZ800U
Onkyo TX-SR805
Axiom M80 (2)
Axiom VP180
Axiom QS8 (2)
Axiom EP500
PS3, Harmony One

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,495
Posts434,582
Members15,442
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,707
CV 11,918
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 523 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4