Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980

Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Who's Online
2 registered (CV, Mojo), 22 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
13,385 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,238 Topics
411,682 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17937
pmbuko 16359
SirQuack 13357
CV 11476
MarkSJohnson 11220
Meanwhile On Facebook
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#405551 - 06/16/14 01:21 PM longer run hdmi cables
oakvillematt Offline

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 514
Loc: Oakville, Canada
I am getting close to needed to wire my room. The demolition of what is there is nearing to the end so its time to start planning on where everything is going to go so I can start ordering parts.

I am planning at some point in the future to get a bigger Flat Panel TV of some sort. The audio equipment is going to be in the middle of the Right hand wall, so I will need to run an RCA line from there out to the middle of the front wall.

It works out to be less distance to simply go around the perimeter than it does to go up the wall, and directly across then back down. I will need a 20' cable for the run. I can get a nice thick 22AWG high speed HDMI for $40. Now they also sell these RedMere cables that I don't quite know if they are better as it's a built in amp chip but using thinner cable.

Another option that I have toyed with is rather than trying to guess what cable I will need, run a 1 1/2" conduit from the amp location and theoretically you can pull new cables as needed.

Any thoughts?
I'm normal, it's the rest of the world that is crazy.

#405556 - 06/16/14 01:50 PM Re: longer run hdmi cables [Re: oakvillematt]
stoudtlr Offline

Registered: 03/24/14
Posts: 43
I would go with the conduit as it gives you an easy way to run cables for any future upgrades you may do as well. As for the Redmere, I would save the extra money and go with a thicker, but cheaper standard HDMI cable unless it has to be snaked through a bunch of tight spaces where the thicker and stiffer cable might create a problem. IIRC, the thinner cable is the only benefit you get from redmere cables.
UMC-200, XPA-3, XPA-5, iNuke 3000DSP, M22's for LCR, 4 QS8's, 2 Ultimax 15" in DIY 12cuft ported box

#405557 - 06/16/14 02:00 PM Re: longer run hdmi cables [Re: oakvillematt]
casey01 Offline

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 812
Loc: Toronto
I did, at one time, look at the Redmere cables, however, from my understanding, the design with the chip is essentially to compensate for the thinner cable, not necessarily longer runs. They also are connected with the signal run in only one direction and I have heard of the odd issue with them and would it be worth the risk essentially run in conduit in the wall? Obviously, a further investigation here would be necessary, I think.

There are many HDMI cable options out there, however, one cable I started to use, especially for longer runs and a more secure connection is the "Perfect Path" brand. It is more expensive, however, it is one of the few brands still that actually offers a locking HDMI connection in to one's equipment. I would think this type of cable might have an advantage especially, when the installation is complete and access might be a little more difficult.

#405558 - 06/16/14 02:56 PM Re: longer run hdmi cables [Re: oakvillematt]
nickbuol Offline

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 4762
Loc: Marion, IA
I have a 40 foot HDMI cable (thick bugger too) that I got from Monoprice that I put in when I finished my basement. Works like a charm with no extra signal boosters or anything.

be sure to put the cable in place and test it before finishing the drywall or whatever. I've heard some people test cables while they are still rolled up, and then they don't work after putting them in place.
2-M60s, VP180, VP150, 4-QS8s, 4-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45

#405563 - 06/16/14 03:25 PM Re: longer run hdmi cables [Re: oakvillematt]
oakvillematt Offline

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 514
Loc: Oakville, Canada
Now to play along the lines of the conduit. The left hand and the front are both outside walls. As such, there is a blanket insulation running down to 18" above the concrete slab floor. In the past I have ripped that out and then replaced it with rigid insulation against the concrete wall, and then roxhul comfort bats to bring me up to R20.

This house, the previous owner hired a contractor who just put in steel studs around the outside walls and drywall. No insulation was added. I can say that the basement has been dry (non of that damp feeling) and it was pretty warm too. I am thinking of just removing the drywall and filling in the gap with insulation to up the R value, but it will also leave a 2" gap around the bottom 18" directly against the concrete.

I am thinking, that would be perfect gap to run a conduit around with no added requirements. Just put it in.

Are there any down side to having your audio equipment on an outside basement wall? Also, is there any shielding concerns with running multiple cables through a conduit? How about adding speaker cables?
I'm normal, it's the rest of the world that is crazy.

#405602 - 06/17/14 09:15 PM Re: longer run hdmi cables [Re: oakvillematt]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13357
Loc: Iowa
I was involved in a complete AV redue at our church this last year and we ran all RedMere cables that we picked up at Monprice. Great technology where you can go great distances and don't have to get "Thick" AWG anymore with same or better performance of longer runs.
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
Audio Nirvana

#405624 - 06/18/14 04:45 PM Re: longer run hdmi cables [Re: oakvillematt]
mrspeeed Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/10/11
Posts: 87
Loc: Cayman Islands
I have a number of long runs each using some monoprice stuff. I have not had an issue yet...

I was supposed to have each run in conduits but it was not done for some reason. I was away when they ran the cable. I explained it will not be a fun day for them the first time I have to try and run a new cable.
Temporary setup - 2.1 - Denon 1713 AVR, Denon 3313 BRD, Infinity SA-500 and Monitor Audio 360 Sub

#406343 - 07/26/14 08:14 AM Re: longer run hdmi cables [Re: oakvillematt]
justinwacker Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 02/25/12
Posts: 18
Loc: Madison, WI
Might be a little late to this party but as for HDMI runs, I pulled the trigger on a brand I could find no reviews on.

FORSPARK, sold on Amazon, at Newegg and eBay. I purchased mine on eBay. 50ft, non directional, no chips, beefy, hi speed hdmi. It's performed flawlessly thus far. I'm setting up an equipment rack in the back corner of my basement and this hdmi feeds up to my living room TV.

Conduit is always a good idea if it's an affordable situation.
Pan TH-50PZ800U
Onkyo TX-SR805
Axiom M80 (2)
Axiom VP180
Axiom QS8 (2)
Axiom EP500
PS3, Harmony One


Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.