You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » RCA to XLR

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#418616 - 04/16/16 06:58 AM RCA to XLR
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I have an EP350v...3? The one with the joint XLR+1/4" plug on the back instead of an RCA. My receiver only has RCA outs.

The sub's 1/4" plug connection is extraordinarily unreliable regardless of cable or adapter, so I'm thinking about using one of these: http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=4778.

I remember some discussion about this, but I don't remember the upshot.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#418620 - 04/16/16 07:50 AM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
MatManhasgone Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 1006
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
I have used them in the past and they did a wonderful job. If you were closer, you could have a couple of mine. Got 6 as it was the only way to get my old MCA5 amp to play nice with the LFR DSP.

for the cost. just go with it.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#418634 - 04/16/16 10:14 PM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Bought it, I'll give it a shot and see what happens.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#418636 - 04/16/16 10:34 PM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11677
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
I'm currently using an RCA-to-XLR adapter to connect the sub cable with RCA terminations coming from the receiver to the first sub, and from there I use XLRs to the rest of the subs in the chain. I preferred the pliability of the Monoprice XLR cables to the other brand I had before. Can't remember which brand that was. Very easy to route around.

Top
#418637 - 04/16/16 10:41 PM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Cool. Just wanted to be sure I wasn't going to be dealing with crazy level issues or anything. At the moment it's really a guessing game of whether the thing is working or not... which is irritating.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#418647 - 04/17/16 11:33 AM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3265
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Hi Ken,
I can't recall if the EP350 v3 has separate high-level (speaker-level) inputs (it must have to enable operation with older gear lacking a dedicated subwoofer output). If so, you could use those to check if the sub is actually working or not. Just connect one of the left or right speaker leads to the high-level input and see if the sub activates with music programming.

Regards,
Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#418649 - 04/17/16 01:21 PM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
It's definitely working, because I can make it play if I hold the 1/4" plug juuuuuuust right. Haven't had a chance to test the XLR yet.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#418698 - 04/19/16 03:12 PM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Works peachy keen!
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#418699 - 04/19/16 03:34 PM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
SBrown Offline
aficionado

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 901
Loc: Victoria,BC
I'm using two the other way, XLR out to my RCA sub ins. Glad that Monoprice will make whatever you need for pretty good quality and a hell of a good price.

Top
#418888 - 04/30/16 12:02 PM Re: RCA to XLR [Re: Ken.C]
DrStrangeQuark Offline
old hand

Registered: 05/09/14
Posts: 87
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By Ken.C
Cool. Just wanted to be sure I wasn't going to be dealing with crazy level issues or anything. At the moment it's really a guessing game of whether the thing is working or not... which is irritating.


I'm using those same connectors from Monoprice. The low-level connections wired through my walls are all XLR, but the only equipment I have at the moment that uses balanced in/out are the dual ep500 subs (awesome). The receiver uses rca outs, and I use an rca->xlr to get the signal into the wall. Then, I use a standard xlr cable to take the signal out from the wall and into the sub. I was getting level issues, and I think the reason is that the xlr input expects both live legs to be swinging relative to ground in opposite directions. If only one is swinging, the net voltage difference is halved. This corresponds to a 6db suppression, which has to be compensated by boosting the level in the source -- at least I think that is what is happening. I haven't done an audyssey level matching yet (surrounds aren't even hung yet), but I wanted to really enjoy the bass, and actually boosted them all the way to 12db (I did listen to the test tones, and this may not really be far too far off the correct balance). Amazing -- shaking the chairs.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,255 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,041 Topics
424,566 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
182 Guests and
5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup