You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#418936 - 05/05/16 06:23 PM Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's?
ajcook Offline
regular

Registered: 12/07/04
Posts: 5
Loc: San Antonio, TX
Wondering if anyone is doing this and can let me know what you used. I was looking at Pangea Speaker Stands these steel stands and wondering if they would work and how much problem there would be securely attaching QS8's (which I don't have yet, but will soon) to the stands? Any other options other than the Axiom stands? They seem a bit pricey for what they are.



Edited by ajcook (05/05/16 06:24 PM)

Top
#418939 - 05/05/16 06:49 PM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: ajcook]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 11437
Loc: Central NH
The QS-series has a bottom-firing woofer that won't work on a "regular" stand....unless you cut a hole on the stan's platform.
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#418940 - 05/05/16 07:21 PM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: MarkSJohnson]
ajcook Offline
regular

Registered: 12/07/04
Posts: 5
Loc: San Antonio, TX
Originally Posted By MarkSJohnson
The QS-series has a bottom-firing woofer that won't work on a "regular" stand....unless you cut a hole on the stan's platform.


Good point, I forgot about that. So are there any other stands that work with the QS8's or QS6's that wouldn't need a modification like that?


Edited by ajcook (05/05/16 07:46 PM)

Top
#418941 - 05/05/16 08:23 PM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: ajcook]
Mojo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 4698
The best engineered QSx stands I have ever laid my eyes on are shown at the link below.

https://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showthreaded&Number=84722

Top
#418949 - 05/06/16 10:51 AM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: ajcook]
DrStrangeQuark Offline
old hand

Registered: 05/09/14
Posts: 87
Loc: Texas
Mojo, Nice!!

I'm welding custom ceiling hangers for 4 qs8's (surround/rear) and 2 m2's (front height). qs8's are at 45 degrees, m2's at 30. Powdercoat is next (won't do that myself).


Top
#419103 - 05/14/16 05:45 PM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: ajcook]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1773
Loc: Canada
Still using my media towers for stands.
When things improve I'll get 2 more.

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/aw/d/B001KW0BEC/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1463262257&sr=8-1&pi=SY200_QL40&keywords=Prepac+BMA-0160&dpPl=1&dpID=41L-9fk%2BQwL&ref=plSrch


Simply purchase a (round) hole saw and drill out the hole.
Locate the shelves from the bottom up (I used bluray case size spacing), don't use the top shelf for storage. This leaves the gap needed for the bottom drivers sound.
There will be extra pins and an extra shelf. I used 2 pins at the rear,one per side, and sloped a shelf with the slope towards the listener.



Edited by brwsaw (05/14/16 05:51 PM)
_________________________
Getting closer to an hour a day in my HT.
My precious...

Top
#419209 - 05/27/16 11:05 PM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: ajcook]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6052
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
If you want something really simple but effective, take a vertical board like a 1x6, fasten it to a decently sized base (say a piece of 2x10), then use the bracket that comes with the speaker to fasten it to the vertical 1x6.

As long as the base is under the speaker it should be pretty stable. Eventually you will probably replace them with the Axiom stands because they look so damn cool, but I had my QS8s on soup cans for quite a few years before that.



Edited by bridgman (05/27/16 11:17 PM)
_________________________
M60ti/VP180/QS8, SVS PC-Plus 20-39, EP500
M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti
M2ti, M3v4, VP100

Top
#419353 - 06/07/16 09:16 PM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: ajcook]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13567
Loc: Iowa
some of us used to use cans of food and I used shelf brackets reversed back in the old days.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#419871 - 07/27/16 06:57 PM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: ajcook]
ereed Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/14/03
Posts: 188
Loc: Charlotte, NC
Will new fms qs stands (has middle bracket) work with older qs8 v2? I ask because binding posts are in middle and wondered if that's an issue since new qs8s have binding posts at far side now. I can see it would touch or go over it?
_________________________
Axiom M60s, VP150, QS8s, EP500 -- Rotel 1075 & 1068 -- Panasonic BDT500 -- Panasonic 60S60

Top
#419913 - 07/30/16 09:01 AM Re: Anyone using non-Axiom stands for QS8's? [Re: ajcook]
ereed Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/14/03
Posts: 188
Loc: Charlotte, NC
Looks like I may have to build or modify a stand for my QS8s. Debbie has informed me that the new fms qs stands will not work with older v2 qs8s due to middle bracket covering the binding posts. I asked if they can modify the stand and she said they do not build stands at axiom, they have someone else build/design them and they put it together.

Might try the media tower for stands. I'm more comfy cutting a hole out of something than putting multiple pieces of wood together. smile
_________________________
Axiom M60s, VP150, QS8s, EP500 -- Rotel 1075 & 1068 -- Panasonic BDT500 -- Panasonic 60S60

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,224 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,991 Topics
424,046 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13567
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
64 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup