You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » M3 Crossover setting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#426513 - 09/02/17 10:07 AM M3 Crossover setting
Clovis Offline
buff

Registered: 09/07/03
Posts: 42
Loc: Goa, India
Hello everyone,

It's been a long time.

I have been switching around with my home cinema speakers just recently and have last resorted to using my M3(v2) as Front speakers in place of my pair of Definitive Technology(DT) BP6Bs (bipolar) which are now being used as surround back and another BP6B pair as side speakers. However due to space constraints, I have placed the Surround Backs level about two feet away from the side of the Surround Side speakers. The listening area couch is positioned between the Surround side and Surround Back (again placed side actually) Speakers. The surrounds are about an inch from the side walls. If I did manage to sneak in the pair of BP6Bs behind the couch as surround back speakers what would be the minimum recommended distance? Would it be better to downgrade to 5.1 instead of 7.1 in light of the space constraints?

After a lot of experimentation the audio crossover settings for all speakers is set at 250hz and the subwoofer low frequency is set at 250hz as well in my Denon AVR3310 setting. The sub in use is a DT Prosub 1000.

Is 250hz too high for the M3s? I am (and have been) leaning towards giving the sub woofer more work to do hence the crossover setup.

I hope you got ALL that. If you did I would appreciate any criticisms on the setup and placement.
_________________________
Clovis de Cruz

Top
#426514 - 09/02/17 10:41 AM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3400
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Anything higher than 100hz will get directional. So between 100 and 250, your ear and your brain will identify the source of all sounds to be the subwoofer. For surround you can go a nudge higher, but not for the mains. M3s are quite good even down to 60hz, so 80hz-100hz would be a low as you should get.
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#426515 - 09/02/17 11:31 AM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
Clovis Offline
buff

Registered: 09/07/03
Posts: 42
Loc: Goa, India
Thanks for the first reply EFalardeau. I will take the information into consideration.

Extra info: The Prosub1000 is located on the right side wall and tightly placed between the SBR and SR speakers with the front bass radiator facing the SBR speaker. Again this is primarily due to a space constraint.
_________________________
Clovis de Cruz

Top
#426517 - 09/02/17 12:24 PM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2231
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Ef is spot on with his recommendations. If you are limited to where things are placed all you can do is find some sort of compromise that suits you. Short of having larger speakers in the front , optimize it as best you can using the room correction software and crossover settings.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#426519 - 09/03/17 12:20 AM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
Clovis Offline
buff

Registered: 09/07/03
Posts: 42
Loc: Goa, India
Thanks for the reply Socketman especially about the room correction software part. I think it would sensible to tweak using the automatic setup recommendations as a baseline.

Update: I have placed by Surround Back Speakers just behind my couch with the primary drivers facing each other parallel at a distance of maybe five feet with the secondary driver more than a foot away facing the side wall....

I did previously place the M3 as a surround side speaker but was unhappy that it outperformed and dominated the other BP6B speakers particularly when running seven channel stereo.

Yes Axiom, I have done my advertising good deed for the day. If only I was a celebrity...
_________________________
Clovis de Cruz

Top
#426673 - 09/23/17 01:53 AM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
Clovis Offline
buff

Registered: 09/07/03
Posts: 42
Loc: Goa, India
Folks, I have been miserable for the past two days since my Prosub 1000 subwoofer has stopped functioning. While I have been scrambling around (mostly in my mind...mostly) with options to get it fixed, the Denon AVR3310 automatically sets the FRONT left and right speakers to LARGE when I remove the subwoofer ON setting from the setup.

Would this mean that placing the BP6Bs or Axiom M3 at the FRONT is risky at say -20db volume level?

But is the risk the same for stereo integrated amplifiers which do not have crossover settings or running the AVR in Direct / Pure Direct mode which essentially makes it function more like a power amplifier?
_________________________
Clovis de Cruz

Top
#426681 - 09/24/17 08:39 AM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
MatManhasgone Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 986
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
I honestly dont think that you could blow the M3 speakers sending them full sound range. they may not be able to reproduce the low frequency sounds all that well, but it wouldn't risk the speaker in doing so.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#426691 - 09/24/17 11:46 PM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
Clovis Offline
buff

Registered: 09/07/03
Posts: 42
Loc: Goa, India
Thanks for the confirmation MatManBob... and thanks also to Ian for the assurance.
_________________________
Clovis de Cruz

Top
#426694 - 09/25/17 03:27 PM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
MatManhasgone Offline
aficionado

Registered: 05/06/14
Posts: 986
Loc: Lost in the great wide yonder
the whole of the -xx db is just to try and match different sound output levels between disparent speakers. so for example, you have a set of 4ohm M80 on the front, and the 8ohm M3 on the side. the volume output of the fronts would be different than sides so you can adjust the +/- db to get them all to sound the same at the same setting on the volume.
_________________________
Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A

Top
#426705 - 09/27/17 02:44 AM Re: M3 Crossover setting [Re: Clovis]
Clovis Offline
buff

Registered: 09/07/03
Posts: 42
Loc: Goa, India
The "-xx db" which I was referring to is the receiver's master volume control which has the option of changing the "volume display" between absolute (i.e. 0,1,2...98,99,100) or relative (-80db to 18db).

I think you were referring to the channel level setting which varies from -12db to +12db.
_________________________
Clovis de Cruz

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,238 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,017 Topics
424,290 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
33 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup