Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 10 11
Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
#433855 10/22/19 08:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
local
OP Offline
local
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
I'm not to sure where it's appropriate to post this. But I need some advice and help, regarding my power amplifier woes.

I currently have a Rotel RMB-1095 power amplifier. I've used this amp on and off for many years.

I unfortunately had it lent out to a family member for a year or two. When it returned, I excitedly hooked it up to my system.

I'm running:

-m80's v3
-vp160 v3
-qs10's
-(2) cerwin vega cmx-12
-pioneer elite sc-57

In less then 5 months I hope to place an order for an ep800, but that's a separate topic wink

Well after hooking it up, it seems both the surround left and front left channels don't work. After triple checking all the hookups, no dice.

I'm in a rural area and there is no Rotel dealer anywhere remotely close. There is also no random electronic/stereo repair service to utilize.

The amount of money to ship that behemoth away, to have it trouble shooted and *maybe* fixed, is a complete unknown.

And here in lies my problem.

I'm looking at the ada-1250x5 amp...but it's going to be around the $3k mark.

Surely, it won't cost me that much to fix the Rotel?

Do you think it's worth it to take a gamble and ship it away?

Is their any technical troubleshooting and self repair possible? Anyone have an idea what is going on with it? Internal fuse possibly?

I would love it if someone could walk me through trying to self troubleshoot this thing. Because it's just sitting in a closet for the last year.

Any help, advice or opinions are most welcomed smile

Last edited by Mad_Chesser; 10/22/19 08:54 PM.

2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57
Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
Mad_Chesser #433856 10/22/19 09:13 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,640
Likes: 8
M
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
M
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,640
Likes: 8
I am so sorry to hear this. That Rotel is a real marvel.

Given that two left channels are gone, I'd say it's fuses or problems with a couple of the windings from one of the two massive toroid in that beast. Why it might be fuses or windings would be a good question. There's thermal and overload protection in the unit also which should prevent fuses or windings from opening. Maybe the thermal or overload protection for those two channels is pooched.

You can lift the cover and look for charred bits. See where the windings terminate and measure their output voltages. If windings are gone, that's a new toroid. Voltages in there are hazardous by the way so you better know how to work around them.

I'd definitely try to salvage that beast.


A-LFR/1000-8 & 2/500v4x2
1000-3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M2/3/50v4
Air Force, Freedom
had v2
Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
Mojo #433857 10/22/19 09:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
local
OP Offline
local
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
Thank you for the advice. Yeah I definitely would like to salvage it, I agree.

Even when it's been unplugged for a year, I have to worry about voltages?

I took the cover off...this is what it looks like. No noticeable charring



2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57
Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
Mad_Chesser #433858 10/22/19 09:28 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
local
OP Offline
local
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
It has been over a year since I've tried hooking it up. Perhaps I should try again and rule out the obvious stuff?


It's such a huge project though to hook it up just to see it not work smirk lol


2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57
Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
Mad_Chesser #433859 10/22/19 09:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Likes: 11
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Likes: 11
Had a quick look at the schematic... there are two fuses protecting each channel ... might want to check those. (after waiting for the caps to discharge)

Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
rrlev #433860 10/22/19 09:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
local
OP Offline
local
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
Ok awesome....thank you! It's been unplugged for a year ;), so its probably safe to poke around right?

I dont really know what I'm looking for tho. Not well versed with this stuff

Last edited by Mad_Chesser; 10/22/19 09:35 PM.

2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57
Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
Mad_Chesser #433861 10/22/19 09:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,640
Likes: 8
M
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
M
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,640
Likes: 8
Damn, that looks so sweet. I'd love to caress its innards. Since you have it open, check all fuses.

BTW, that's only half of it. The other half of it is hidden. There's another toroid under the naked one. smile

If you don't see anything obvious, plug it in and see if it works. Keep your nipples away from it though. You can feel nipple shocks in your 'nads and sphincter.


A-LFR/1000-8 & 2/500v4x2
1000-3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M2/3/50v4
Air Force, Freedom
had v2
Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
Mojo #433862 10/22/19 09:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
local
OP Offline
local
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
Sorry but nothing glaring stands out to me...what are the fuses, can you point them out to me?

K so update...plugged it in...

Obvious red lights for the left front and left rear, light up. So the amp is aware and is trying to tell me that something is shot.



So when I press power...there is a click and all lights go off...and then a second click and those two channel red lights come on.


2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57
Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
Mad_Chesser #433863 10/22/19 09:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Likes: 11
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Likes: 11
In your picture ... if you look in the upper left there is a blue capacitor with a fuse next to it in a set of clips ... the fuse pops out of those clips. In the glass window you will see a wire going from on end to the other if it’s good. If that wire is broken it’s bad. You need to replace it with the same kind of fuse (look for writing on the metal ends). Note each fuse is probably close to a similar looking capacitor. You’ll find 4 fuses on the side boards and 2 on that front board

If no fuses are bad then it’s beyond your know how to fix ...
any competent repair guy should be able to fix this amp

Re: Power Amplifier Troubleshooting
rrlev #433864 10/22/19 10:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
local
OP Offline
local
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 279
Ok cool I see it! That's what I was looking for. I've replaced fuses in amps before but just couldnt find one in here. Thank you!

And there is one on the top right too...and both seem fine smirk


2 Axiom M80s v3-custom
1 Axiom VP160 v3-custom
2 Axiom QS10HP
2 Cerwin Vega CMX 12's
Pioneer SC-57
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 10 11

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,398
Posts432,335
Members15,419
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (TrevorM), 245 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4