Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Brief comparison: Axiom Audio M5HP vs. Kanto Yumi
#442628 06/12/21 12:16 AM
local
OP Offline
local
(This is my second try, I seem to have a knack for discovering ways of breaking the underlying forum software, this time with Vietnamese fonts)

I took delivery of the M5HP in May, but I only just got around to comparing it my previous main stereo, the Kanto Yumi. These speakers themselves were the equal of a pair of Nuance 330’s that defeated the M22ti outright, and is in a thread I posted years ago.

I also purchased an inexpensive Onkyo AVR (TX-SR393), though I might have picked another brand if I had known they were teetering on the edge of bankruptcy. It’s blissful to only have to connect components with HDMI. I’m still learning how to tweak it, it seems to make questionable auto room correction adjustments.

The Yumi was Kanto’s flagship until around 2016, when it replaced by the YU6 and later the TUK. The Yumi’s are 6 Ohm powered speakers with 30W/ch (which means they’re really 20W/ch into 8 Ohm), Class A/B, 1” silk and 5” kevlar drivers, and have 2 x TOSLINK, 3.5mm phono, RCA, and Bluetooth 4.0 inputs. It comes with an IR remote control with basic bass and treble controls, source selection, volume, and muting. I usually listened to them with a -1 cut of treble and the Mirage PS12/90 subwoofer at 80 Hz.

Testing parameters
- I was able to A/B using the same source material, matching volume by ear, and using their respective mute buttons to switch back and forth
- I disabled the subwoofer, internal crossovers, and switched the Onkyo to 2.0 mode
- The same source devices (Apple TV) were feeding the AVR through HDMI, and the Yumi was fed by TOSLINK
- Direct mode bypasses any EQ circuitry in the AVR
- Music tracks (128-256 kbps lossy): Alien (Lee Suhyun), Heartbeat Memories (Amanda Lee), Bua Yeu (Bích Phuong), Tell You This Love (Hook), Didn’t Know (Diachi Miura)

Test 1: Yumi (flat mode) vs M5 + Onkyo (direct mode)