Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Speaker array for surrounds on a 5.1 setup
#70197 12/01/04 07:07 PM
rabrant Offline OP
regular
OP Offline
regular
I am looking into setting up a home theater system for my first time. I need to learn as much as I can before I dive into this task, so bare with me.

I have decided that I am going to use a speaker array using the M22Ti speakers... It would be an array of two. The M22Ti power rating is from 10-200 Watts at 8 Ohms. By having two in parallel, how much power would I need to pump into it? I would suppose that I would need 400 Watts per channel.

I'm new to home theater installation, and I don't want to muck anything up. So, I was wondering if anybody could tell me the difference between a Pre-Amp and an Amp... Don't they do the same thing?

Also, if a reciever has a 110 Watt amplifier built in, and a 200 Watt amplifier (or would it be pre-amp???) is connected would that make 310 Watts?

As you can see I am new to this. Any direction on this via websites and documentation of any kind would be greatly appreciated.

Brant

Re: Speaker array for surrounds on a 5.1 setup
#70198 12/01/04 07:26 PM
shareholder in the making
Um.... What do you mean by speaker array? You don't need to connect two M22s per channel to get good sound. In fact, it will probably be worse. If you need more sound for your room, you should look at M50s, 60s, or 80s.

The wattage rating on speakers is inconsequential. It means only that the speaker will make sound at the bottom of the range, and will not explode at the top of the range.

A preamp switches sources (ie, CD player, DVD player, etc.) and does processing on the signal. An amplifier amplifies the signal. You need both.

No. You'd be connecting the amplifier to the pre-outs on the reciever, which bypasses the receivers amplification circuit (which is a good thing--you wouldn't want to put a 110 watt signal into a port that normally accepts a milliwatt signal!)

I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!