You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » RCA Cable

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#78388 - 01/21/05 04:42 PM RCA Cable
jorge016 Offline
local

Registered: 02/11/04
Posts: 248
Loc: Minnesota
Has anyone had any experience making their own RCA patch cable. Rat Shack has some decent looking RCA interconnects, but not much for cable. I'm most interested in hearing what you may have used for cable.
_________________________
M22's, VP150, QS4's, HK 630, HSU VTF3-MKII

Top
#78389 - 01/21/05 04:44 PM Re: RCA Cable
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2181
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
If you want a sturdy one, you could use coax. That's pretty what's used on my bluejeans component cable.

Top
#78390 - 01/21/05 09:52 PM Re: RCA Cable
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10621
Mike, it isn't entirely clear to me what you need. An interconnect is a cable, and RadioShack does have RCA patch cables/interconnects in various lengths. Could you describe what functions, lengths, etc. you'll be doing?
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#78391 - 01/21/05 11:38 PM Re: RCA Cable
jorge016 Offline
local

Registered: 02/11/04
Posts: 248
Loc: Minnesota
John, my local Rat Shack has nothing shorter than 6' except the Monster Cable which is too pricey. I need 3' patch cables to connect the VCR and cable box. I'm not looking for spendy cables, but would like something a little more than the lightweight ones that come with the VCR for example.
_________________________
M22's, VP150, QS4's, HK 630, HSU VTF3-MKII

Top
#78392 - 01/22/05 01:51 AM Re: RCA Cable
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10621
Mike, although some apparently think that the cables that are included with some components were all manufactured by the Crappy Company, it's just nonsense, and especially for runs as short as 3' they and just about anything else that looks like a wire work very well. If you can't find it locally you'll have to try online(and get into some shipping charges). Parts Express has a nice selection from about $2 up, and in my view nothing higher than their Dayton line should be necessary.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#78393 - 01/22/05 11:04 AM Re: RCA Cable
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 791
Loc: Asheville, NC
This might help. here The page is slow, but it does provide a good DIY method. Good luck
_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,622 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
212 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup