Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
don't laugh at my dumb questions... kinda long
#82876 02/25/05 03:43 AM
OP Offline
First off, let me just say that i'm totally new to this home theater thing! I have a perfect understanding of the technical side of it all, but have never been able to afford "nice" toys... bear with me...

I've been in the market a high end home theater for a couple years now and just stumbled upon the axiom website. needless to say i have no idea what speakers to buy!

i listen to alot of music, but this system is going to be used primaraly for movie watching.
i'm using the following components:
Onkyo TX-SR702 Receiver
Sony DVP-CX985V DVD changer
Hitachi 60" Ultravision LCD HDTV

my room is 16' X 18'

up until this point i was going to purchase a set of Polk Monitor 60's for front, CS2 Center, and Monitor 40's for rear. toss up between a Velyodyne DPS10B and Polk PSW404 subwoofer. as i said i just recently heard of Axiom Audio and am VERY interested to say the least. i've read great reviews for both manufacturers speakers but am still a little skeptical about mail ordering something so expensive from Canada.

I am now considering an Axiom setup like this:
M50ti Front
VP100/150 Center (don't know which to use... help!)
QS4/8 Surround (again with the decision...)
EP175 subwoofer

here come the questions:

VP100 or 150... other than the obvious, is there a definate advantage to one over the other?

QS4 or 8... same as above

is keeping the driver size as critical as some people make it out to be?

finally, and in my mind, most importantly... has anyone auditioned the Polk Monitor Series against the Axioms? I can't find anyone in the Richmond VA area who has a set of Axioms that i can listen to. The Polk's are everywhere! They sound good... but then again, i'm no audiophile!!

Any help that you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated!!!

Hopefully I can become part of the happy Axiom family!

thanks
nick