Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Re: Need a new router
axiom_man #388168 01/11/13 12:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
Originally Posted By: axiom_man
OK
You cannot go wireless to wireless with routers. If you need to extend or go wireless from the router to another you need a bridge or extender.


Not entirely true. I'm using bridge mode on my 2nd floor Lynksis router to maintain the same subnet being dished out by my basement located ISP provided router/modem. I wasn't getting a good signal on other floors from my basement utility room. It just took some digging in Google to find how to set it up appropriately.


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: Need a new router
axiom_man #388169 01/11/13 01:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
Originally Posted By: axiom_man

The only way your gonna run two or three Networks ( LAN ) within is through CAT6 or 5 or 4 or 3 or 5 or 5e I don't care.


Respectfully, this is also not true. However, since we are talking residential services, I'll agree it's not easily done with anything you are going to find at Future Shop type stores.


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: Need a new router
pmbuko #388170 01/11/13 01:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
Originally Posted By: pmbuko
axiom_man,
The primary real-world benefit of a simultaneous dual-band router is that you can run devices that only support 2.4GHz at the same time as devices that can use 5GHz. Older routers that supported both speeds would have to step down to only using 2.4GHz if there was only one device on the network that required it.


Agreed.
But now I feel like I'm bashing Axiom Man. Please don't take it that way as it's not my intent. You just happen to hit the topic I do for a living.


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388175 01/11/13 04:38 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
One other solution is to use some type of powerline ethernet adapters. The previous gen is so-so but it's much faster than noisy wifi. I've used Netgear ones for a few years with some success. Works better if they don't have to jump a transformer. I have single and quad port versions. I use the quad in my AV rack to support my Wii/Wii U, PS3, Tivo, Denon 3310, Slingbox, Roku, etc. You can also use these things to truly extend your Wifi. Use 2 of them and just think of them as a long CAT5 cable. This is opposed to a wifi repeater that does extend your wifi by repeating the signal. Bear in mind that in this case, wifi speeds are cut in half because repeating the signal puts you in half duplex mode.

http://www.netgear.com/home/products/powerline-and-coax/

There's the new G.hn versions which should ship this year. These take advantage of the 'theoretical' max of 1Gbps, real world is about 400Mbps taking overhead/attenuation into account.

http://www.homegridforum.org/content/pages.php?pg=news_press_releases_item&id=192

Re: Need a new router
oldskoolboarder #388192 01/11/13 06:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 130
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 130
Thank you guys for all of your help.

Sorry I confused some of you on my second question, what I meant is I have a cable cord down in my basement connected to my DVR box. I have Cox Cable and Cox Internet. I didn't know if I could split that coaxial cable in a two way splitter for one to go to my DVR and the other to my modem (which will be by my DVR) downstairs or not?

Once again, thank you for your suggestions and help, I appreciate it!

Last edited by Ascension; 01/11/13 06:15 PM.

2 = M60,4 = QS8's,1 = VP150,1 = EP350,1 = EP500
HK247
Optoma HD70,110" DIY screen
Xbox360 & PS3
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388193 01/11/13 06:22 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
You can split the coax, it's fine.

Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388224 01/12/13 12:05 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
Just for reference , you can not have 2 modems on one coax unless you are paying your provider for more than one ip address.
Each modem has its own mac address that the CO uses to identify
it . This is why we use a router.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: Need a new router
Murph #388357 01/14/13 01:59 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
devotee
Offline
devotee
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
Originally Posted By: Murph
Originally Posted By: axiom_man
OK
You cannot go wireless to wireless with routers. If you need to extend or go wireless from the router to another you need a bridge or extender.


Not entirely true. I'm using bridge mode on my 2nd floor Lynksis router to maintain the same subnet being dished out by my basement located ISP provided router/modem. I wasn't getting a good signal on other floors from my basement utility room. It just took some digging in Google to find how to set it up appropriately.



Hence , the sentence, " If you need to extend or go wireless from the router to another you need a bridge or extender."
Same, thing just your buying a router and converting it, switching it's options to a Bridge. Whynot just pay leas and buy the bridge in 5ghz


Pioneer sc-1525
M80 HG Cherry
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388358 01/14/13 02:02 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
devotee
Offline
devotee
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
And yes, if eveything is on 5ghz then everything is competing for bandwidth. And No, 2.4ghz is not there just for backwards compatibilties.


Pioneer sc-1525
M80 HG Cherry
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388359 01/14/13 02:03 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
T
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
Dude, you're being kind of argumentative.


bibere usque ad hilaritatem
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,376
Posts432,000
Members15,416
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,686
CV 11,805
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 94 guests, and 1 robot.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4