Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
VP180 added to stable; power options?
#421192 11/25/16 07:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
N
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
N
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
I took advantage of the Black Friday deal here and upgraded from my VP150 to this beast. Question is, can I run this speaker with my current Receiver, Yamaha RX-V659, it's pretty powerful but outdated. I also only see 6 ohm and 8 ohm setting on it. Running M22's QS8's currently. Will I need to add a new amp (3 ch amp - L/R/C)to the receiver to run the 180? Any suggestions? Or possibly a new receiver with sufficient 4 ohm capabilities?


Epic Grande Master 500 w/ on wall VP180
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
Nachosgrande #421198 11/26/16 01:30 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,810
Likes: 9
M
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
M
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,810
Likes: 9
Set it to 8 Ohms and you're good to go! Setting it lower will cut the available power to the speaker by 50% or more.


v2tov4
A-LFR/1000-8&2,500x2
1000&1500-3
100,160,QS10,800,M2/3/5/50
N2,N3
Audiobytes
A-LFR1500 coming
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
Nachosgrande #421200 11/26/16 03:01 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
N
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
N
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
Will do, thanks!


Epic Grande Master 500 w/ on wall VP180
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
Mojo #421212 11/26/16 07:03 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
N
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
N
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
I wound up purchasing a 300 watt stereo amp from monoprice that I can bridge to mono to feed the center channel. Not bad for under $250. Anyone have any experience with this one? It's not their new monolith amp; its a no brand amp.


Epic Grande Master 500 w/ on wall VP180
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
Nachosgrande #421213 11/26/16 08:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,810
Likes: 9
M
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
M
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,810
Likes: 9
You'll use less than 10% of that power.


v2tov4
A-LFR/1000-8&2,500x2
1000&1500-3
100,160,QS10,800,M2/3/5/50
N2,N3
Audiobytes
A-LFR1500 coming
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
Nachosgrande #421215 11/26/16 08:10 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
N
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
N
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
Perhaps you could fill me in a bit. The speaker is rated from 10-400. Am I better off using the stereo amp for the M22 as to take strain off the receiver amp?


Epic Grande Master 500 w/ on wall VP180
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
Nachosgrande #421216 11/26/16 08:30 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
M
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
That Yamaha receiver can drive the VP180 without any problem. The part about it having only 8ohm and 6ohm setting it just a null setting inside the system. it really doens't make any difference one way or the other.

The power supply inside the unit can run a 4ohm speaker. Just not at maximum volume for a constant time. So don't turn the volume all the way up.


Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
Nachosgrande #421221 11/27/16 04:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,477
Likes: 9
connoisseur
Online Content
connoisseur
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,477
Likes: 9
I use a Pioneer SC 1523 K 9.2 AVR with the excellent VP180 center channel. I use the AVR to drive all the speakers except for the front L/R (Thiel CS 3.6s). The Pioneer would not have any trouble driving the Thiels but I have a beautiful Integra M504 with huge power meters which looks great in the rack.

Unless I'm going to watch a move, I don't take the trouble to turn on the Integra amp and just listen to the center and 6 surround channels. Sounds great!


Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
MatManhasgone #421222 11/27/16 06:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,810
Likes: 9
M
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
M
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,810
Likes: 9
Originally Posted By MatManBobbleHead
The part about it having only 8ohm and 6ohm setting it just a null setting inside the system. it really doens't make any difference one way or the other.


I very much doubt that. The lower impedance setting likely steps down the rail voltage to the amplifier which reduces the available output power.


v2tov4
A-LFR/1000-8&2,500x2
1000&1500-3
100,160,QS10,800,M2/3/5/50
N2,N3
Audiobytes
A-LFR1500 coming
Re: VP180 added to stable; power options?
Nachosgrande #421223 11/27/16 07:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,810
Likes: 9
M
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
M
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,810
Likes: 9
Originally Posted By Nachosgrande
Perhaps you could fill me in a bit. The speaker is rated from 10-400.


A 400W speaker doesn't suck 400W out of your amp unless you want it to. 400W is how much power you can sink into your speaker before it starts to misbehave.

400W likely represents the start of the excursion limit of the driver. You could probably inject up to 700W (of undistorted music content) into it before you reach complete dynamic compression. Any higher than that and you are probably going to severely encroach on the thermal limits of the speaker.

Before you reach a couple of hundred watts, you'll start damaging your hearing. And if your amp can't provide undistorted power, you might even end up damaging the speaker because clipping will thermally load the speaker.

When you are listening to music, I doubt your amp is peaking out at more than 20 Watts.


v2tov4
A-LFR/1000-8&2,500x2
1000&1500-3
100,160,QS10,800,M2/3/5/50
N2,N3
Audiobytes
A-LFR1500 coming
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,425
Posts432,853
Members15,427
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,693
CV 11,825
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (2x6spds), 201 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4